HI. It's Laura.
BRRRRRR.
Welcome back to winter. I
hear the forecast is supposed to change but I am not holding my breath. The one
weather condition I don't train for triathlon in is snow. I would not be
surprised if it is in the forecast for next week.
I usually like to swim as
the second workout of the day, not first, because, to me, it is logical. I
would have to rinse off before I get in the pool, then swim, then leave the gym
wet and then ride my bicycle. I will be wet and cold and smell like chlorine (I
pretty much smell like chlorine most of the time anyway).
The chlorine also makes
my skin itch. So it is logical to me that I swim last and then jump into the
shower and be done for the day.
Monday was so cold and
windy all day that I would still be waiting for it to get warm if I had waited.
I took myself out of my normal routine and headed to the JCC to swim first
thing in the morning. This switch messed up my whole day. I was so confused as
to what time it was for the rest of the day.
I sat staring at my wind
chill calculator later in the morning. With it being 42 degrees outside plus 18
mile/hour winds plus my speed, there was no way I was headed out to ride to be
a popsicle. I waited until after lunch before I went out for my ride and donned
my winter gear. It was lovely in the sunshine.
At this point in my
training I am usually fraught with stories about the pool and all of the
squabbles that take place due to people's inability to be considerate to each
other. In the pool so far I have encountered attentive life guards, mindful
lane mates and piddling crowds.
My stories seem to be
coming from cycling and, today, the gym.
I think at some point in
our lives, all of us have been inside a gym. I am also inclined to think that
gym etiquette was introduced to you before you went, after your first visit and/or
by the friend you were going with to the gym. A lot of it is common sense: wipe
your sweat off the machine, put your equipment away and don’t talk on your cell
phone. One common gym etiquette is sharing equipment. I will admit, I don't
like to share equipment but I have no issue letting someone work in with
me. My strength routine is quick and dirty so I don't spend a lot of time on
any one piece. I often do two exercises at once.
Last week, it began. I was
using the lat pull-down machine (excellent for swimmers BTW). While resting
from that exercise, I was holding a side plank. When I stood up from side plank,
one of the members was standing there staring at me while leaning up against
the weight racks, like he was waiting for a bus. I had no idea what that was
all about so I continued. The second I stood up from side plank he pointed at
the lat machine. I figured out what he wanted, annoyed that he had no ability
to speak, I walked away. I was done anyway.
On Tuesday (yesterday), I
did the same workout routine. I was happy as the gym was very quiet. It was generally
the same time of day and the same man stood staring at me leaning from the same
weight rack.
I stood from side plank,
clicked off my music, and pulled out my headphone.
“Can I help you? You are
staring at me." He pointed at the seat of the lat machine. I wanted to say
“I don't speak ‘point’”. This will probably make me look really nasty. I wasn't.
I was frustrated that an adult male cannot use his words to ask for something
that he wants.
I looked at him and said:
“You did this to me last week as well. Don't stand there and stare at me. It’s
weird. If you want something ask for it.” He stammered at me, “well you were on
your side and then you rolled over”. DUH.
I went back at him: “If
you don't communicate with me what you want I cannot help you. If you want to
work in with me you have to ask me because I can't read your mind.” I then went
about my business.
Right after I went about
my business he went to the front desk. The next thing I knew the head trainer
was on the lat machine. I was well out of the way by then and on to other
things.
Communication is not new.
We have a whole language we created so we could ask for things. Why are we so
bad at it? As I write my blog entries, I become more and more aware that public
altercations stem from frustration due to a lack of communication (we should
already know about personal communications). People come up behind you on the
bike and don't tell you what side. People, in the pool, pass or jump ahead of
you in the pool without asking. And runners in the park…. Well these days, I am
not sure there is a problem since I have not had many incidents in the park so
far this year.
Use your words!
Play hard!
Laura
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment