Hi. It's Laura.
Happy Monday.
The rule of thumb is that
there should be nothing new on race day. This includes your clothing. You
definitely want to train in whatever outfit you are going to race in. You
certainly do not want to deal with chafing, blisters, wedgies or even sunburn
on race day (or any day for that matter). Is there anything more annoying than
a pair of shorts that slip down or a shirt that rides up?
I already know exactly
what I am wearing on race day. I wear it every brick and I wore it last year on
race day. Unfortunately, it has been too cold to actually wear my racing outfit
so I have been piecing things together based on the weather.
Also, on race day, you
don't want to start messing with your food. You need to know what you are going
to be eating the night before, for breakfast before the race and during the
race itself. I know last year I did not eat enough during the race and I
definitely ate the wrong thing the night before. I made the mistake of eating
out and having a pasta dinner (my body is not a fan of pasta).
You need to practice
eating on the bike. You need to eat what you would eat (or close to it) on the
bike and the night before as you go through your brick workouts. This is what
training is about. Figuring out what works and what doesn't during training so
there are not issues on race day.
Of course there are
always issues on race day. Goggle straps snap, you get cramps in your legs,
back, arms, GI issues from nerves or a bad food choice. But these things you
can control. You know how to stretch, you know what to eat and you can carry an
extra pair of goggles.
The one thing we can't
control is weather.
Rain or shine, my brick
was going to happen on Saturday. The last thing I want to figure out on race
day is how to handle my bike in the rain.
Saturday morning I was
out the door by 6:15. I would have like to have been out by 6:00 but I am lazy
and need my coffee.
Let me back up to Friday
night. I woke up at least six times Friday night, waking up every hour to wait for
the rain. I was very worried about the rain (more so than even I thought).
Finally at 1am, I heard the thunder and the pouring rain. This did nothing for
my nerves (that I swore I didn't have). At 2:30am, I heard more thunder and
more rain. I managed to doze off until about 4:00am when I listened carefully and
heard no rain. I thought to myself “I can deal with wet roads” and fell back to
sleep until 5:30.
So out the door I go. Because
the roads were wet and there was the potential for more rain, I decided to stay
in NYC. My route was one five mile loop around the park then onto Riverside.
The loop in the park does not have huge dips or large climbs where the bike
could potentially slip. Riverside is completely flat with no curves.
Within the first five minutes
in the park, my butt was completely wet. It never occurred to me that the back
tire would kick up water onto my seat and back. I mean I knew but I didn't
know. My first thought was “this is going to be a long ride”, second thought “fenders!”
Once I got going and my
butt was sufficiently soaked, the ride was not so bad.
The park was devoid of
other cyclists. Who really wants to ride in the rain on Saturday morning at
6:30? At the beginning in the park, it was not raining. There were a handful of
dedicated runners but mostly the road was empty.
The rain started about 15
minutes into my ride. I can say I did not really notice. I saw the drops into
the puddles before I felt it on my face. Here we go. The rain was the hardest
15 minutes later when I made my way out to Riverside. It was not torrential but
noticeable. I decided to leave my glasses alone out of fear of making my vision
worse. I rode slowly, not too slow. The average speed reading on my GPS was
11.5 mph (old lady slow) instead of my normal 15-18 mph. I hit the turn around,
the rain had subsided, the wind was at my back and my speed picked up. The rain
never really stopped but it did lighten up to a drizzle that was virtually
unnoticeable again.
I hit the transition spot,
realized it was still drizzling and then took off for my two mile run. The runs
have been proving to be kind of miserable off the bike. They are supposed to
be.
The first brick, I had
wicked cramps. The second brick, I was light headed and had leaden legs. Those
runs have also been short at 10 minutes. This week run was longer at 20
minutes. I discovered that I need the first 15 minutes to recover from the bike
ride. At the 15 minute mark, the side cramps disappeared and I settled into a
nice run.
I didn't even notice the
rain. I usually don't notice it during the run (yes, I wore my rain shoes). I
always feel like I am running so slow coming off the bike. It turns out I am
not running as slow as I think. I was very happy to see on my GPS that, at one
point, I was running a sub 9 minute mile.
One of my biggest fears
was realized on Saturday, riding in the rain. I had no idea how anxious I was
of riding in the rain until I couldn't sleep on Friday night. I had imagined
all kinds of disasters happening like: there is a fairly steep hill that goes
into Riverside park from 72nd St and I imagined myself on the bike not being
able to stop because the brakes don't work well in the rain; sliding down the
last leg of that hill, out of control and unable to stop, sliding across the
actual path, hitting the guard rail and going over head first still attached to
the bike. Hey, it could happen. But it didn't. [Editor’s note: What, no
detailed description of the injuries, the treatment, rehab and potential recovery
time?] (No, because I would be dead)
The brick workout was
done by 8:15 am. The Husband took me out for breakfast and I was napping by
9:30am.
I doubt that I will ever
be delighted to ride in the rain but I now know how the bike works in the rain.
And, on race day, if it does rain, it’s not new.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment