Hi. It's Laura.
Happy Monday.
My brick workout on Friday was such a delight.
Saturday felt like such a treat to not have so much work to do. I did still have
some work to do, I had a three mile run and strength training to get
to.
It has been a while since I have run in the park on a
Saturday and what a treat it was. I got into the park before the Revlon
walk/run started but the park was crowded nonetheless. I know I was dilly
dallying earlier in the morning and wound up getting there at prime running
time, 8am. I have forgotten about the characters that populate the park
on Saturday morning.
Of course there are the regular running groups usually in
groups of 10 or more that insist in running in an abstract formation instead
of maybe two by two. Next to the running lanes are the cyclists. I could
write an entire novel on what is wrong with the cyclists in Central Park but who
has time to read a novel. I’ll blog instead.
For some reason they all think they are in the Tour De
France every day they ride in the park. As long as they stay in their
lanes, I don't really care what race they think they are riding in. When they ride
in the pedestrian/running lane, which is when I get super annoyed (OMG I'm 16
again). I like order and I like when people follow the rules (not my
rules nobody could keep up with those but societal rules). It makes me crazy
when they don't. It’s a safety issue.
When there are rules and you break them for the sake of
breaking them that peeves me.
Peeve#1 the first pic is the sign of the pedestrian
walkway. Seems pretty clear to me.
This
second picture is a cyclist riding on the path where he had to pass the above
sign to get to this spot.
If you
look closely you can see my dog right behind him.
There is simply no reason for this cyclist to be on the
walking path. And he gave me and The Dog a dirty look. Go figure!
Maybe The Central Park Conservancy should make the signs
(pic above) a little bigger or perhaps a little brighter. I know I sound
cranky. I am a little. I go through this almost every day.
Saturday was special though. It started with the
guy running in what I would call “an UnderArmour base layer pants of white”.
Shall I continue? Shirtless! And he was a tad orange (from self tanner I
assume).
Then there is the woman who sings while she runs, the
woman riding the granny bike riding in the pedestrian lane, the runner, running
in the cycling lane (can we say hell in a hand basket?), the woman dressed in
purple from head to toe, the really really fast guy, they guy talking on his
cellphone while running and then there are ear buds.
Peeve #2
Did you know that earphone/headphones do not make you
invisible when you where them?
They also don't make me
invisible when you where them. I am pretty sure that earphones have no magical
power to make anyone disappear. This, just because you can’t hear me, does not mean
I am not there.
Ear buds also do not make you any smaller of a person.
You still have to move over to let people get past you. When you place
them in your ears, you actually stay the same size and, regardless of your
size, you take up space.
What ear buds can do is block out all of the irritating,
irrelevant conversation that people are having around you. Ear buds allow
you to enjoy your music without disturbing anyone around you and help you get
through your 2, 3, 10, mile run.
That is a lot of complaining for a Monday. I say, what
better day to complain.
I am headed out for the beginning of my week's
workouts. A final big week of workouts before a recovery week next week.
Yay!
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment