Hi. It's Laura.
Happy Monday, I mean
Tuesday.
Be careful what you wish
for, because you just might get it. I could almost kick myself for saying that
I was craving a bit more of a workout at the end of last week. The beginning of
this week has proved so far exhausting but that can wait until tomorrow.
I finished off last week
with a lovely brick on Saturday morning. I try to get out of the apartment as
early as I can on Saturdays. The Husband is usually meeting me at the end of
the ride to hold my bike while I go for the run portion. And I hate for him to
ruin his entire day, so I get up regular time and I try to be out the door by
6:00. Realistically I am always forgetting something so it’s more like
6:15/6:30.
I was on Riverside Drive
by 6:30 and on my way. My original plan was to head over the GWB and into
Jersey to go up 9W. It was a lovely Saturday morning. The temperature was
perfect & no wind to speak of. I was about 10 minutes into my ride when I
was passed by a bike gang.
They were about 7 people,
a mix of men and women. I am not sure where they came from. It was quiet when I
left and I was not going that slowly. They
caught me and passed me (but not really). I was actually kind of stuck at their
tail. Their slowest person was just a little slower than me. I tried to slow
down and let some distance get between us but I kept catching them and becoming
part of them.
I am opposed to bike
gangs. I always feel like I am being pushed around a little and they make me
very competitive. That morning, I did not want to give all-out effort on my
bike with a run still ahead of me.
I decided to pull over
and let them get well ahead of me. Bad move. As I was stopped at the traffic
light, I was passed by two more guys on bikes riding together and then two more
after that. Ugh. So much for a quiet ride early on a Saturday morning.
I knew the bike gangs
were going to be out because it was so nice out but I thought I would have at
least until 8:00am before being overwhelmed by the gangs.
But wait, there is more.
I take off from the traffic light only to be passed by a group of at least 7 women.
I was so annoyed. I
sacrificed Friday happy hour and wine with dinner in order to get out early. Could
I please have one hour to myself?
An opportunity presented
itself. I used the road and the hills to get some serious distance between
myself and the gang of women. I hit about 25 mph on a downhill and was able to
maintain 18 to 21 Mph for the next 10 minutes or so. This put a lot of distance
between me and GOG (Gang of Girls).
At that point I decided I
was not going over the bridge into Jersey. If it was already this bad at 7:00am
the Jersey route would be a nightmare. Once I hit Fort Washington Avenue I
headed to Fort Tyron Park. I started arguing with myself about “how I am
supposed to get a decent workout if I let these bike gangs intimidate me”. I
have as much right to cross the bridge as they do. I decided to go across the
bridge.
I crossed with no drama
except for the wind. The wind was wicked and very loud. So loud in fact I could
not hear my music.
I was happy I made the
decision to cross the bridge. This gave me plenty of a continuous riding time instead
of starting and stopping.
In order avoid the large
crowds of cyclists heading up 9W, I decide to go straight on East Palisades Avenue.
All I could think all the way down East Palisades Avenue was little piggy's
going all the way home. Weeeeee!
I hit a solid 28 mph on
the downhill and then it hit me. I will have to go back uphill with "all
that fun" once I turn around. Uh oh.
I turned around and
headed back. 5mph was all I could manage on the climb. I think at one point, I
may have hit 6mph on the climb. It was a bitch of 10 minutes up hill in the
sun. I was so happy when I hit Hudson terrace, which is the road immediately
off the GWB.
The trip back is always
amazingly fast. I was back in Riverside Park within 30 minutes.
I really wanted to track
this ride accurately so I stop my GPS watch whenever I stop my ride to get an
accurate read. Sadly I forgot to turn it back on until after I was over the
bridge. So I missed about 20 minutes of my ride.
So much for knowing exactly
how far I went or how much energy I used. Oh well…
The run portion was the
best so far. No side cramps, no dizziness, nothing other than sheer panic.
I realized that Sunday
was exactly one month out. I don't remember if I was this panicked last year. If
I was, it was for entirely different reasons. Last year I really had no
expectations and this year I know exactly what to expect.
Let the countdown begin.
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment