Hi. It's Laura.
We have what we call in
our house: “FastMath”.
Because I am not the math
genius in the family, whenever I can add something without thinking, we call it
FastMath. So when I texted The Husband that my 2 1/2 hour bike ride took 3
hours, his response was: FastMath!
I was dreading the 2 1/2
hour bike ride. Who wouldn't? This is no leisurely bike ride. There is no
sightseeing, no stopping for coffee along the way and no taking pictures. This
is go go go full on pedaling for the entire time watching your cadence and
testing how you feel along the way. I was testing when I want to fuel or refuel
and what my system can take so I know what to do on race day.
Except, this turned into
a longer ride with a little sightseeing along the way. I decided to save myself
the frustration of crossing the GWB on a Saturday morning and stay in
Manhattan. The island is approx. 23 miles around I was planning on doing it
twice if I needed to. LOL!!!
The plan was to head up
the West Side, into Fort Tyron Park and around. Then I was to head down Saint
Nicholas, down the East Side and back up through Battery Park City. I had a
sort of plan, not a real plan and I really wasn't sure where I was going. I had
my phone in my seat that I could reference if I needed to, which of course, I
did.
After the first ten
minutes, I had to pee. Naturally, the bathroom was locked. 3 minutes wasted.
Onto the next one, success! 5 more minutes wasted.
I travel up the West Side
often. So until I hit Fort Washington Avenue and the entrance to the bridge, I
knew my surroundings. Once past the bridge, I was a little unsure. I headed
north. I knew at least the park was above the bridge. I found the park. But
before I went in, I pulled over to check the app for the bike path. I confirmed
that I can go around the park and if I just stay on Cabrini Avenue on my way
out I will hit Saint Nicholas Avenue.
The park is pretty and
way less crowded than Central Park. I also found it odd that I was the only cyclist.
Just about what I am guessing was about half way around the park, the bike
started to ride weird. You guessed it, a flat tire.
After the incident last
year (I was in VT with a flat tire about 7 miles away from home base with no
phone and no cash) I learned how to change my tire. So I did. I had no
complications. Phew. Although it took me about 20 minutes.
With the tire fixed, I
head out of the park but not before checking the map one more time.
There is one very large
problem with bike lanes in NYC. They tend to disappear.
I am not opposed to
riding with traffic but it is easier to stay in a bike lane where they exist.
Once I headed out of Fort
Tryon Park, I was in the bike lane until about 160th street where it just
disappeared. I headed down Broadway for a while but was increasingly
uncomfortable with the amount of traffic starting to build. I pulled over to
check the map again.
Somewhere, I was supposed
to turn left to get to St. Nicholas and missed it. But only because there is no
bike lane that goes across and no signs to follow. Grrr.
I finally make the left
on 160th and onto St. Nicholas and the bike path, need to pee, again. 3 minutes
more wasted.
During all of this time,
I was so happy that I was really the only cyclist taking this route. I may be a
little confused but at least I was not dealing with bicycle traffic too.
I take St. Nicholas down
to 119th St. and make my way across to 1st Ave, where I believe I am going to
head downtown. I'm a dummy. I know full well that 1st Avenue goes uptown not
downtown. But in my bicycle stupor, I was confused. I cursed the bike map and
headed back to 2nd Avenue.
There is a bike lane on
2nd, for the most part. It is mostly obstructed by the Second Avenue subway
line construction. Back into traffic and the traffic is not pretty. With all of
the construction I find myself weaving in out of cars and trucks just to stay
close to the curbside and out of the turning lanes.
I know if I don't die
before I make to 23rd Street I can make it over the East Side bike path. A real
bike path. A little dramatic perhaps but I did need to get through the traffic
going into the Queens Midtown tunnel before I could get there.
Finally to 23rd Street and
onto the bike/running/tourist path.
I had forgotten how not
nice the East Side paths are. They are very narrow in some parts and very muddy
in others. I made it through without incident and without having to stop to pee
(go figure).
By the time I hit Pier 17,
I am two hours of saddle time in. I was so happy to know that I only had 30
minutes left to go.
Once I hit Battery Park
City, I was very happy. I know exactly how long it takes to get home and,
although bicycle traffic picked up, I made up to 72nd street again without
incident.
I thought I was saving
myself aggravation by staying in the city, I didn't. I think I may have only
made it worse. Too much starting and stopping for traffic. So for next week's
two hour ride, I will be taking it to NJ with the rest of the cyclist.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment