Hi, it's Laura.
I honestly thought Monday and Tuesday we're going to be
my difficult days this week.
With having too much fun on Sunday putting me behind and
playing catch up and the work piling on, they should have been. Wednesday and
Thursday proved to be just as difficult.
As you have heard me complain, I feel like, endlessly at
is point, the weather has done it again. Before I continue, I love sunny days.
I don't like to sit in the sun anymore. I can find way better things to do on a
sunny day at does not involve laying out and getting a suntan. Golf, a
leisurely bike ride, sitting in the shade and reading a book. I also love rainy
days. There a so many different things to do on rainy days. Sit inside and read
a book, cook, clean closets and fun stuff.
So when I complain about the weather, the only reason I am
complaining is because it is stopping me from executing my very well thought
out training plan.
Wednesday, I was scheduled for a bike ride. My training
plan only required a 70 minute ride. I told The Husband I would take The Dog
for him on Wednesday morning so he could get a workout in for himself.
Completely selfish on my part. As competitive as I am, I admittedly did not
want to ride in Central Park in the morning with all the other cyclists. It can
be a real zoo some days (like Monday through Thursday). Since it is a recovery
week, I was perfectly happy to ride in the afternoon. Although the park can be
packed with tourists on bikes and The West Side bike path can be just as a bad.
I was willing to take my chances.
Before The Husband set out for the office Wednesday
morning, he donned his panama hat. I warned him that it was quite windy out and
he may want to rethink that idea. I should take my own advice sometimes.
After "work", an afternoon dog walk and lunch
(procrastinate much?), I get myself together for an afternoon ride.
I thought perhaps the wind had subsided some from the
morning hours. I was wrong. The winds were just as strong. I checked the weather
app on my phone one more time before I took off, 20 MPH North West winds. Ugh!
I figure I would get the hardest part of the ride out of
the way first and head north up Riverside. Riding against the wind is like
going uphill. You fight and fight and get nowhere pretty quickly. What would
normally take me 28 minutes, against the wind, took me 40. Sadly heading north
my average speed was 11MPH. The ride back was a different story. I averaged 17
MPH and made it back in less than 28 minutes.
Thursday morning, more weather. The forecast was for
torrential rain all day but, according to the weather channel app, it was not
supposed to start until 8 or 9am with potential thunder storms in the
afternoon.
Ok, I have plenty of time to get my workouts done. I head
for Central Park and of course the rain starts. The weather man was calling for
about 3 inches of rain. So out of character, I decided to head back home and
run in the gym. I really didn't want to run 7 miles in the rain. Since it is a
recovery week, I figured it would be ok and I headed to the gym with little
guilt.
7 miles done, I head to the pool.
I moved my longer swim of the week to Thursday this week
due to "too much fun" on Sunday. I reckon moving the swims around is
not so much of a big deal this week as long as they get done.
I had 1200 meters of my 1400 meter swim complete when I see
feet and a yellow kickboard in front of my face. I have no idea what this could
possibly be. The pool is so lovely quiet. Aqua class is happening in the first
two lanes. Me and one other woman are swimming at the same pace in the medium
lane, never running into each other and playing very nicely together.
It’s the life guard. She needs everyone out of the pool. Apparently
there was a lighting strike. The JCC rules say if there is lightning everyone
out for 20 minutes unless there is more lighting then the clock starts again.
Uh oh! I get out and race down the stairs to the showers.
The aqua class ends at 10:30 so I try to time myself to be out of the pool no
later than 10:15. These classes are quite large. At least 15-20 women and they
all shower at the end of class. If you don't beat them to the showers, there is
usually a wait and then a wait for the hair dryers. My goal is to be on the
hair dryers before they let out of class.
Half of the class decided to wait it out, the other half
decided to not wait the 20 minutes and head to the locker room. I managed to
grab a shower before any of them can get downstairs. I can also move a lot fast
than all of them. Half way through my shower, I hear "there are people out
here waiting to take a shower". I empathize but I can only wash myself as
fast as I can wash myself (and they don’t hurry when they beat me to the
showers). I didn't dilly dally and got out of the way as quickly as possible.
The weather they predicted for day time never materialized here in Manhattan.
It was one bolt of lightning and one rain shower at 11:00.
My swim workout thwarted, I chalk it up to an interesting
if not successful week. Recovery week is working because I don't feel like I have
done a ton of work and I am kind of craving bigger workouts.
Weather, once more, impacts Friday morning. The Husband sent
me a text from the morning dog walk: "no rain. Park is quiet. Cool, very
cool" I'm excited for an empty park, cool temps and no rain. Woohoo!
I head out for my short run (30 minutes) and I bet you
can guess what happens.
Rain, Rain, Rain of course. I don't care. The park is
lovely, quiet, cool and the rain is not that hard. [Editor’s note: It also stopped
for my commute to work so I was dry all morning.]
One more workout for the week, a brick on Saturday, a two
hour bike ride and a 15 minute run. No weather predicted. Halleluiah!
Enjoy the weekend
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment