Monday, June 24, 2013

90 + 40


Hi. It's Laura.

Happy Monday.

Saturday morning was my last large brick. 90 minute bike ride followed by a 40 minute run.

Up until Saturday, I was a little worried about the race itself. I have not reached full-on panic mode just yet. I do have moments of sheer terror. Why? I have no idea exactly why.

I am doing the work that is required so I should be able to finish just fine.

So far every brick except for the last one have been very difficult. I ask myself how on earth I am going to make the 6.2 mile run if I can barely get through 1.5 miles for these Saturday morning brick workouts.

Seemingly every weekend, I have cramps in my sides, cramps in my hamstrings and I always feel like I am moving super slow. When I look at my GPS, which gives me my pace, I am actually not running all that slow. The Husband and I have a theory: because my legs are moving crazy fast on the bike, when I hit the ground to run it only feels slow. Right now it’s all I've got. I like it and I’m sticking to it.

This past Saturday morning, I head out normal time, 1/2 hour past the time I want to get out.

The alarm went off at 5:20 but I was not pedaling until 6:34. Coffee and more coffee, finally propelled me out the door. I do this every Saturday and it drives me crazy. I want to be out by 6:00 A.M. I know by 6:30 there are going to be bike gangs everywhere. That 1/2 hour makes a big difference.

But there I was, 1/2 behind already, with the work still needed to get done.

I decided to change things up a bit this weekend by doing the brick in Central Park. I wanted to run part of the actual course after the ride. I started my ride on Riverside, made my way up and back then into Central Park for one loop on the big loop incorporating the big hill. I wanted to add some hill work to the workout as well because there are definitely hills on the race course. If I remember correctly after the first big hill on the course its rolling hills from then on.

I would like to let you in on a little secret, I am very competitive. Whenever I get passed on my bike or on a run, I assess if that person should have passed me or not. Tall men get a pass because, of course, they have long legs and are going to pass me. That’s a given. When I get passed by women, I don't let it go as easily. The west side of Central Park is a series of rolling hills after a big hill. Climbing on my bike is always a challenge for me. The story goes: I was climbing the hill after the big one and got passed by a pretty normal looking person. Not happy about it, nor can I let it go. I used the downhill for momentum and hit a pretty nice climb speed but alas she passed me again. Still not letting it go. On the third hill, again using my momentum from the downhill I chugged it out and passed her on the climb and woohooed myself through the imaginary finish line. I know she knew I was racing her and I thank her for making me work just a little harder.

The Husband was waiting for me with my transition spot completely set up. I have a wonderful team. Every week The Husband and The Dog are waiting for me at my transition point and, until this past Saturday, usually stick around for the run finish as well. This week, because the run was so long, The Husband left The Dog behind and did not stick around to wait 40 minutes for me to finish. I can't blame him. [Editor’s note: This was the plan so it wasn’t a surprise.]

I took off from the transition into the run shaky as usual. I started at the hill at 72nd Street and ran north. The conversation in my head went something like this: “It’s not race day, calm down.” “You are not racing anyone else in this park so just relax.” “They can pass you.” “They probably did not just bike for an hour and half before they started their run today. “

So calm down I did [Editor’s note: My wife just turned into Yoda. I don’t know why. “Fast ride you did!]. I already had one race today, I don't really need another. And it was getting hot. Although I was shaky, I did not have any side cramps nor did I have any hamstring cramps. I allowed myself a nice easy pace because the goal today was to get it done, not finish first. I ran the side of the park that I biked.

Saturday was my best brick to date and I can't begin to tell you how happy that makes me. I have been worried that I was not ready to race. Although I am tired and hungry, I believe now I am ready or pretty damn close. I walked home from the park and laid down on the floor tired, sweaty and hungry.  Nap ensued.

One more week of big training sessions before I start to taper. We’re getting close (ok that was a panic moment).

Laura

 

Friday, June 21, 2013

I Read Most of an Internet Article


Hi it's Laura

For those of you who only read the first paragraph: Monday strength training at the gym @6am, 75 minute bike ride at 9am; Tuesday 9 mile run followed by a 1200 meter swim; Wednesday 2 hour bike ride at 6am, strength training in the afternoon; Thursday 6.5 mile run @ 6am followed by a 2050 meter swim. Coming up on Friday a 30 minute run plus strength training and Saturday morning a brick workout which will include a 90 minute bike ride followed by a 40 minute run. Needless to say, I am tired and I am hungry.

It came to my attention the other day the some people only have time to read the first paragraph of my blog. So there is my week in a nutshell. I was a little annoyed by that fact. I can say that here in the second paragraph because the people who only read the first paragraph have already stopped reading. And then I remembered why I started documenting training in the first place. Part of it was to share my experience with my friends & family but it was mostly to be able to look back and remember, at some point in time, how I was feeling and what was going on. It tracks if I have personally grown, establishes credibility as a trainer and puts the word out there that I know what I am doing.

I am over the insult now (if I was ever really insulted in the first place).

I am hungry constantly and I am exhausted. Because I am so tired, I am turning stupid. This morning, I tried to put my dirty dishes in the refrigerator instead of the dishwasher. Granted, they are right next to each but it was not the first mishaps of my week. I find myself staring off into space like The Dog looking at a squirrel. Now, I am wishing for Sunday so I can rest.

I know last week I made a comment about craving a little more exercise because of recovery week. I certainly knew this week was coming but didn't realize what it was going to do to me. I am sleeping very well (not like I have choice being so tired).

Today, Friday, is a bit of a break with a short run and some strength training. I am grateful for the break but also a dreading my brick workout on Saturday. A 90 minute bike and a 40 min is almost the triathlon distance. If I could actually move faster (I do try), that time could actually cover the distances.

At this point in my training, I know I have mentioned that I have amped it up from last year, I am finding I have very little time for anything including sitting down to write this. When I am not swimming or biking or running, I am eating. I am constantly consuming. I am fascinated by the body and how it talks to you. I am not just hungry with a little tummy growl. I actually feel a deep hunger that comes from my body not my stomach. My muscles are screaming for nutrients and so I let them have it. I am eating two breakfasts and a morning snack. I renamed my green smoothie a POWER SMOOTHIE for all the stuff that goes into it. There is lunch, two afternoon snacks, dinner and dessert (sugar free fudge pops with natural peanut butter with fat free whip cream, yum).

I have clients that will have half a Muscle Milk and be full. I am a little jealous. I wish I could be full these days on just that little amount of food.

I am being careful. I eat all of my meals at home that are whole foods with lean proteins, fruits and lots of leafy greens. Alcohol is pretty much off the table, except for Saturday nights. In these last few weeks, the effects of alcohol are too dehydrating to indulge in not to mention the potential for a hangover and the GI issues it can cause.

I would have loved to regale you with stories from my week but sadly today most of the entertaining stories have been forgotten already. If I don't get to them right away they kind of fade. Perhaps next week…

Enjoy the weekend.

Laura

 

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Brick Workout #5


Hi. It's Laura.

Happy Monday, I mean Tuesday.

Be careful what you wish for, because you just might get it. I could almost kick myself for saying that I was craving a bit more of a workout at the end of last week. The beginning of this week has proved so far exhausting but that can wait until tomorrow.

I finished off last week with a lovely brick on Saturday morning. I try to get out of the apartment as early as I can on Saturdays. The Husband is usually meeting me at the end of the ride to hold my bike while I go for the run portion. And I hate for him to ruin his entire day, so I get up regular time and I try to be out the door by 6:00. Realistically I am always forgetting something so it’s more like 6:15/6:30.

I was on Riverside Drive by 6:30 and on my way. My original plan was to head over the GWB and into Jersey to go up 9W. It was a lovely Saturday morning. The temperature was perfect & no wind to speak of. I was about 10 minutes into my ride when I was passed by a bike gang.

They were about 7 people, a mix of men and women. I am not sure where they came from. It was quiet when I left and I was not going that slowly.  They caught me and passed me (but not really). I was actually kind of stuck at their tail. Their slowest person was just a little slower than me. I tried to slow down and let some distance get between us but I kept catching them and becoming part of them.

I am opposed to bike gangs. I always feel like I am being pushed around a little and they make me very competitive. That morning, I did not want to give all-out effort on my bike with a run still ahead of me.

I decided to pull over and let them get well ahead of me. Bad move. As I was stopped at the traffic light, I was passed by two more guys on bikes riding together and then two more after that. Ugh. So much for a quiet ride early on a Saturday morning.

I knew the bike gangs were going to be out because it was so nice out but I thought I would have at least until 8:00am before being overwhelmed by the gangs.

But wait, there is more. I take off from the traffic light only to be passed by a group of at least 7  women.

I was so annoyed. I sacrificed Friday happy hour and wine with dinner in order to get out early. Could I please have one hour to myself?

An opportunity presented itself. I used the road and the hills to get some serious distance between myself and the gang of women. I hit about 25 mph on a downhill and was able to maintain 18 to 21 Mph for the next 10 minutes or so. This put a lot of distance between me and GOG (Gang of Girls).

At that point I decided I was not going over the bridge into Jersey. If it was already this bad at 7:00am the Jersey route would be a nightmare. Once I hit Fort Washington Avenue I headed to Fort Tyron Park. I started arguing with myself about “how I am supposed to get a decent workout if I let these bike gangs intimidate me”. I have as much right to cross the bridge as they do. I decided to go across the bridge.

I crossed with no drama except for the wind. The wind was wicked and very loud. So loud in fact I could not hear my music.

I was happy I made the decision to cross the bridge. This gave me plenty of a continuous riding time instead of starting and stopping.

In order avoid the large crowds of cyclists heading up 9W, I decide to go straight on East Palisades Avenue. All I could think all the way down East Palisades Avenue was little piggy's going all the way home. Weeeeee!

I hit a solid 28 mph on the downhill and then it hit me. I will have to go back uphill with "all that fun" once I turn around. Uh oh.

I turned around and headed back. 5mph was all I could manage on the climb. I think at one point, I may have hit 6mph on the climb. It was a bitch of 10 minutes up hill in the sun. I was so happy when I hit Hudson terrace, which is the road immediately off the GWB.

The trip back is always amazingly fast. I was back in Riverside Park within 30 minutes.

I really wanted to track this ride accurately so I stop my GPS watch whenever I stop my ride to get an accurate read. Sadly I forgot to turn it back on until after I was over the bridge. So I missed about 20 minutes of my ride.

So much for knowing exactly how far I went or how much energy I used. Oh well…

The run portion was the best so far. No side cramps, no dizziness, nothing other than sheer panic.

I realized that Sunday was exactly one month out. I don't remember if I was this panicked last year. If I was, it was for entirely different reasons. Last year I really had no expectations and this year I know exactly what to expect.

Let the countdown begin.

Laura

Friday, June 14, 2013

1 Strike, You're Out


Hi, it's Laura.

I honestly thought Monday and Tuesday we're going to be my difficult days this week.

With having too much fun on Sunday putting me behind and playing catch up and the work piling on, they should have been. Wednesday and Thursday proved to be just as difficult.

As you have heard me complain, I feel like, endlessly at is point, the weather has done it again. Before I continue, I love sunny days. I don't like to sit in the sun anymore. I can find way better things to do on a sunny day at does not involve laying out and getting a suntan. Golf, a leisurely bike ride, sitting in the shade and reading a book. I also love rainy days. There a so many different things to do on rainy days. Sit inside and read a book, cook, clean closets and fun stuff.

So when I complain about the weather, the only reason I am complaining is because it is stopping me from executing my very well thought out training plan.

Wednesday, I was scheduled for a bike ride. My training plan only required a 70 minute ride. I told The Husband I would take The Dog for him on Wednesday morning so he could get a workout in for himself. Completely selfish on my part. As competitive as I am, I admittedly did not want to ride in Central Park in the morning with all the other cyclists. It can be a real zoo some days (like Monday through Thursday). Since it is a recovery week, I was perfectly happy to ride in the afternoon. Although the park can be packed with tourists on bikes and The West Side bike path can be just as a bad. I was willing to take my chances.

Before The Husband set out for the office Wednesday morning, he donned his panama hat. I warned him that it was quite windy out and he may want to rethink that idea. I should take my own advice sometimes.

After "work", an afternoon dog walk and lunch (procrastinate much?), I get myself together for an afternoon ride.

I thought perhaps the wind had subsided some from the morning hours. I was wrong. The winds were just as strong. I checked the weather app on my phone one more time before I took off, 20 MPH North West winds. Ugh!

I figure I would get the hardest part of the ride out of the way first and head north up Riverside. Riding against the wind is like going uphill. You fight and fight and get nowhere pretty quickly. What would normally take me 28 minutes, against the wind, took me 40. Sadly heading north my average speed was 11MPH. The ride back was a different story. I averaged 17 MPH and made it back in less than 28 minutes.

Thursday morning, more weather. The forecast was for torrential rain all day but, according to the weather channel app, it was not supposed to start until 8 or 9am with potential thunder storms in the afternoon.

Ok, I have plenty of time to get my workouts done. I head for Central Park and of course the rain starts. The weather man was calling for about 3 inches of rain. So out of character, I decided to head back home and run in the gym. I really didn't want to run 7 miles in the rain. Since it is a recovery week, I figured it would be ok and I headed to the gym with little guilt.

7 miles done, I head to the pool.

I moved my longer swim of the week to Thursday this week due to "too much fun" on Sunday. I reckon moving the swims around is not so much of a big deal this week as long as they get done.

I had 1200 meters of my 1400 meter swim complete when I see feet and a yellow kickboard in front of my face. I have no idea what this could possibly be. The pool is so lovely quiet. Aqua class is happening in the first two lanes. Me and one other woman are swimming at the same pace in the medium lane, never running into each other and playing very nicely together.

It’s the life guard. She needs everyone out of the pool. Apparently there was a lighting strike. The JCC rules say if there is lightning everyone out for 20 minutes unless there is more lighting then the clock starts again.

Uh oh! I get out and race down the stairs to the showers. The aqua class ends at 10:30 so I try to time myself to be out of the pool no later than 10:15. These classes are quite large. At least 15-20 women and they all shower at the end of class. If you don't beat them to the showers, there is usually a wait and then a wait for the hair dryers. My goal is to be on the hair dryers before they let out of class.

Half of the class decided to wait it out, the other half decided to not wait the 20 minutes and head to the locker room. I managed to grab a shower before any of them can get downstairs. I can also move a lot fast than all of them. Half way through my shower, I hear "there are people out here waiting to take a shower". I empathize but I can only wash myself as fast as I can wash myself (and they don’t hurry when they beat me to the showers). I didn't dilly dally and got out of the way as quickly as possible. The weather they predicted for day time never materialized here in Manhattan. It was one bolt of lightning and one rain shower at 11:00.

My swim workout thwarted, I chalk it up to an interesting if not successful week. Recovery week is working because I don't feel like I have done a ton of work and I am kind of craving bigger workouts.

Weather, once more, impacts Friday morning. The Husband sent me a text from the morning dog walk: "no rain. Park is quiet. Cool, very cool" I'm excited for an empty park, cool temps and no rain. Woohoo!

I head out for my short run (30 minutes) and I bet you can guess what happens.

Rain, Rain, Rain of course. I don't care. The park is lovely, quiet, cool and the rain is not that hard. [Editor’s note: It also stopped for my commute to work so I was dry all morning.]

One more workout for the week, a brick on Saturday, a two hour bike ride and a 15 minute run. No weather predicted. Halleluiah!

Enjoy the weekend

Laura

 

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

The Last Recovery Week


Hi, it's Laura,

Once again I find myself playing catch up. Thank goodness this is recovery week in more ways than one.

Sunday, The Husband, Ms. Long Island and I attended the Big Apple BBQ and had a lot of fun. Too much fun.

Too much fun left me tired and out of sorts on Monday. I slept in and considered bagging my whole day and "calling in sick". Being this close to race day, I decided that was not really the best idea and needed to formulate a plan to deal with the early part of the week.

Between the weather and being under the weather, I came up with a plan. It has seriously rained more in the month of May and June this year than it did all of last spring. I do not remember having to try to manipulate my week in order to accommodate all of this rain.

Once again, I have no problem running in the rain but riding in the rain is just dangerous.

I can see a little drizzle but the rain has been downpours which are just not conducive to bike riding.

On Monday, instead of a 60 minute run outside, I headed to the gym. The run may not have been pretty (I ran at 5.0 which is almost embarrassing). Like I said, I was feeling under the weather but at least it got done. The swim however was going to have to wait until another day.

I realized that one day this week was going to be a very long day for me trying to squeeze in a swim and strength training and a ride/run which every day I figure it go happen.

I decided it is best to get it done sooner rather than later.

Tuesday morning I headed to the gym for strength training. Happy that was out of the way, I then headed for the pool.

Swimming tired makes me nervous. I am afraid of drowning first of all, and second, I am never sure if I am capable of swimming medium fast or medium slow when I am tired.

The pool was not that crowded so I figure I would start in medium fast and if I wind up holding up the lane, I will move.

I was shocked at how far 25 meters is when you are tired. I felt like I swam my first lap forever. I got to the end and waited for a full recovery. My warm up was only 100 meters and with one lap down, it was going to be a long morning. I am not usually this tired when I swim over the fear of the whole drowning thing.

Lap 2, lap 3! I can feel the fatigue in my arms. I am thinking to myself that I am not going to be able to finish. I push through lap 4, ended the warm up and let myself rest. The next set is flutter kick drills. In flutter kick, you use a floating board to keep your head up water and isolate your legs to propel you forward. I find these easy enough. I may have neglected to mention my entire lane was filled with men. This is somewhat unusual. I swim mostly at the "woman only" hour, not for any reason other than that is what fits into my schedule.

When it came time to drop the board and start the freestyle, I was a little concerned again that I would not be able to keep up.

During my first set of 200 meters, I feel rushed and a little breathless which can be hazardous in water. I want to make sure I keep the lane moving. I get to the end and look behind me. No problem. I held my own. I start to not feel tired but only because my competitive spirit (which has a mind of its own) shows up.

I start out for my second set of 200 meters and I start catching on the guy in front of me. Oops sorry (I am so not sorry).  I start feeling my groove and finish the set and the next one as well.

The pool is a weird place, workouts don't seem to last very long people tend to rotate out every 20 minutes or so. By the time I hit my 4th set, the lane I was in had 100% turnover. We are now all women. With my fatigue completely at bay (for the moment), I am happily annoyed that the women in my lane are not swimming fast enough. I keep catching them and passing them. Go me. I finish and head home for breakfast.

One more to go.

After breakfast, I head out for an hour long bike ride. It is recovery week so my workouts are a bit lighter than they have been or will be. I am always saying that I can't move things due to the length of the workouts. This week is the exception. I don't know if I made my choice on Sunday because I knew I had a lighter week coming up or did I just get lucky in making that bad decision? Probably a little of both.

I did not want to ride. Normally I enjoy it. But after breakfast, tired came back and the last thing I wanted to do was put out more effort. I was not teaching myself anything by going out tired but I know, on race day, if I didn't do everything in my power including training tired I would be disappointed in myself.

I got through the ride without incident. No injuries, no aggravation. Done and caught up.

A few weeks ago, I made a comment in my blog about signing up for a second triathlon after Labor Day weekend saying that "I do that on Monday". I felt a little awkward after I published that thinking the statement was a little braggy [Editor’s note: Yeah, I know it is a made up word but it worked for me]. But on Tuesday, it was almost true: a 1200 meter swim and a 12 mile bike ride with a one hour strength training session almost covers it.

Don't try this at home.

Laura

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

A 3 Hour Tour


Hi. It's Laura.

We have what we call in our house: “FastMath”. 

Because I am not the math genius in the family, whenever I can add something without thinking, we call it FastMath. So when I texted The Husband that my 2 1/2 hour bike ride took 3 hours, his response was: FastMath! 

I was dreading the 2 1/2 hour bike ride. Who wouldn't? This is no leisurely bike ride. There is no sightseeing, no stopping for coffee along the way and no taking pictures. This is go go go full on pedaling for the entire time watching your cadence and testing how you feel along the way. I was testing when I want to fuel or refuel and what my system can take so I know what to do on race day. 

Except, this turned into a longer ride with a little sightseeing along the way. I decided to save myself the frustration of crossing the GWB on a Saturday morning and stay in Manhattan. The island is approx. 23 miles around I was planning on doing it twice if I needed to. LOL!!!  

The plan was to head up the West Side, into Fort Tyron Park and around. Then I was to head down Saint Nicholas, down the East Side and back up through Battery Park City. I had a sort of plan, not a real plan and I really wasn't sure where I was going. I had my phone in my seat that I could reference if I needed to, which of course, I did.  

After the first ten minutes, I had to pee. Naturally, the bathroom was locked. 3 minutes wasted. Onto the next one, success! 5 more minutes wasted. 

I travel up the West Side often. So until I hit Fort Washington Avenue and the entrance to the bridge, I knew my surroundings. Once past the bridge, I was a little unsure. I headed north. I knew at least the park was above the bridge. I found the park. But before I went in, I pulled over to check the app for the bike path. I confirmed that I can go around the park and if I just stay on Cabrini Avenue on my way out I will hit Saint Nicholas Avenue. 

The park is pretty and way less crowded than Central Park. I also found it odd that I was the only cyclist. Just about what I am guessing was about half way around the park, the bike started to ride weird. You guessed it, a flat tire. 

After the incident last year (I was in VT with a flat tire about 7 miles away from home base with no phone and no cash) I learned how to change my tire. So I did. I had no complications. Phew. Although it took me about 20 minutes. 

With the tire fixed, I head out of the park but not before checking the map one more time.

There is one very large problem with bike lanes in NYC. They tend to disappear.

I am not opposed to riding with traffic but it is easier to stay in a bike lane where they exist.

Once I headed out of Fort Tryon Park, I was in the bike lane until about 160th street where it just disappeared. I headed down Broadway for a while but was increasingly uncomfortable with the amount of traffic starting to build. I pulled over to check the map again.

Somewhere, I was supposed to turn left to get to St. Nicholas and missed it. But only because there is no bike lane that goes across and no signs to follow. Grrr. 

I finally make the left on 160th and onto St. Nicholas and the bike path, need to pee, again. 3 minutes more wasted.

During all of this time, I was so happy that I was really the only cyclist taking this route. I may be a little confused but at least I was not dealing with bicycle traffic too.

I take St. Nicholas down to 119th St. and make my way across to 1st Ave, where I believe I am going to head downtown. I'm a dummy. I know full well that 1st Avenue goes uptown not downtown. But in my bicycle stupor, I was confused. I cursed the bike map and headed back to 2nd Avenue.

There is a bike lane on 2nd, for the most part. It is mostly obstructed by the Second Avenue subway line construction. Back into traffic and the traffic is not pretty. With all of the construction I find myself weaving in out of cars and trucks just to stay close to the curbside and out of the turning lanes. 

I know if I don't die before I make to 23rd Street I can make it over the East Side bike path. A real bike path. A little dramatic perhaps but I did need to get through the traffic going into the Queens Midtown tunnel before I could get there.

Finally to 23rd Street and onto the bike/running/tourist path. 

I had forgotten how not nice the East Side paths are. They are very narrow in some parts and very muddy in others. I made it through without incident and without having to stop to pee (go figure).

By the time I hit Pier 17, I am two hours of saddle time in. I was so happy to know that I only had 30 minutes left to go.

Once I hit Battery Park City, I was very happy. I know exactly how long it takes to get home and, although bicycle traffic picked up, I made up to 72nd street again without incident. 

I thought I was saving myself aggravation by staying in the city, I didn't. I think I may have only made it worse. Too much starting and stopping for traffic. So for next week's two hour ride, I will be taking it to NJ with the rest of the cyclist. 

Play hard!

Laura 

   

 

Thursday, June 6, 2013

3 Strange Days


Hi it's Laura
I don't think “tired” quite covers what I am feeling this week.
I mentioned previously that The Husband was traveling for business. Under normal circumstances, I probably would have relished a little alone girl time. Unfortunately I didn't really get a chance to enjoy it. Time flew by in a flurry of dog walks, bike rides and long runs. I am in the last six weeks of training. This week is a building week in a series of four weeks. Next week is recovery week.
I think I covered Monday where the rain sent me inside to the bike trainer. I heard the weather forecast for Monday morning and thought maybe, just maybe, I would be able to get outside to ride later in the day. But I don't really have the patience to wait around. After I walked the dog in the morning, I was ready togo. With what seemed to be no end to the rain in sight, I headed to the gym and 1 1/2 hours on the trainer. As Murphy law wouldhave it, the minute I felt the gym, the sun came out and remained out for the better part of the day. Regardless, I had things to do and more dog walking on the agenda. No crying or second guessing my decisions this week. With the husband out of town, I am on a tight schedule. First things first, sneakers!
I head back to super runners world, my sneakers are ready to go, almost. The dog and I waited yet again for an hour for them to shave down the orthotic to fit the shoe. Most of the time, the guys in the store make me run outside to test them out. So far this method has failed so I didn't bother. I took them home and crossed my fingers.
With most of the day gone, I was relieved when my Monday night client rescheduled to Tuesday.
I had been moving nonstop since 5:30 AM and needed to be able to sit down and have dinner. Let's just say I was relieved.
I had no idea what that meant for my Tuesday.
Up and out by 6:00 with The Dog, home for breakfast and thenback out for a 9 mile run.
Success! The sneakers feel pretty good. By mile 4, I have only slight numbness which is normal for me. The 9 miler takes me about two hours in time. First the walk to the park is about 12 minutes. Adding anywhere from 1-5 minutes to get a signal on the GPS, the run itself takes approx. 90 minutes and another 12 minute walk back with at least 5 minutes of stretching before Igo back up stairs. I eat another breakfast.
I walk The Dog. The afternoon walk is less taxing. The walk tothe dog park is about 10 minutes. All I have to do is stand there and make sure he behaves himself. Oh yeah, throw the Frisbeea lot. We spend just over an hour at the park. Normally we are there just about an hour but he was playing well. was alsohaving some “mommy guilt" for having to leave him alone for so long with The Husband gone. Back home and then to the gym for strength training. I cannot skip strength training. You would think it would be something to skip but I will, lecture on the benefits of strength training when I get mine back. From the gym to home, late lunch, shower.
I sat for as long as it took to file my papers to incorporate projectKick Start Alpha. Now I am just waiting for them to arrive in the mail. Eeeeek so exciting.
I am scheduled to meet my client at pier 84. The best way to get there for me is to ride my bike. I know, seriously, like I have not moved enough. I promised myself that I would take the ride easy and not speed down to the location. There is no rush to get there.I will make in on time. I left the apartment with plenty of time and it only takes 12 min to get there. I get there with time to spare. We train. Or better yet, she trained, coached.
I decided to skip the West Side bike paths. At that time of the day, they get very crowded and I will wind up nothing but aggravated. So I head out to 11th Avenue, again with the promise to myself that I will take it easy on the way home.
I come up the west side, hit 11th Avenue but not before beings passed by some guy on a hybrid bike. Hey, why is he passing me. My bike is better than his. I remind myself. Ok then, off Igo up 11th.
was doing great, nice easy pace until I got passed by a little old lady. WTF. I am mostly reasonable but I can’t let that happen. Ihit 61st street, which is a hill, blasted past her at the light and took off. Just as I crest the hill, she passes me! How on earth is this possible? She is old and she is on a bad bike. Then I see it.The bike has a motor. It only looks like she is pedaling. With my competitive spirit intact, I concede. I am sure she had no idea we were racing.
By the time I get home, I got text from The Husband that he is on his way and he will be home shortly. YIPPEE!
Normal life resumes on Wednesday, sort of. I am still in trainingwith only six weeks to go. I still have to get through the workouts for the rest of the week.
Wednesday was a 90 minute ride. 90 minute somewhat translates in about 21 miles.
I again start in Central Park but the tourists on rental bikes once again proved to be too much. head to Riverside. I am trying to get in as much park time as I can. The terrain is so challenging. I really needed that to step up my game from last year. I hate The Big Hill and I love The Big Hill.
My ride on Wednesday is too late in the day. I just don't have the energy in late afternoons that I do uh the morning. I am trying to get out early but circumstances this week just didn't allow for it.
A late workout on Wednesday and an early 6 mile run Thursday morning followed by a 1200 meter swim and I am just about wasted. I need rest and I realize now that swimming on Sunday was a mistake. 13 days of training without a rest day is not helping my performance and it certainly is doing nothing form state of mind. I have been falling asleep almost immediately and sleeping like the dead. I cannot wait for Sunday.

Play hard!
Laura

3 Strange Days

Hi it's Laura
I don't think “tired” quite covers what I am feeling this week.
I mentioned previously that The Husband was traveling for business. Under normal circumstances, I probably would have relished a little alone girl time. Unfortunately I didn't really get a chance to enjoy it. Time flew by in a flurry of dog walks, bike rides and long runs. I am in the last six weeks of training. This week is a building week in a series of four weeks. Next week is recovery week.
I think I covered Monday where the rain sent me inside to the bike trainer. I heard the weather forecast for Monday morning and thought maybe, just maybe, I would be able to get outside to ride later in the day. But I don't really have the patience to wait around. After I walked the dog in the morning, I was ready togo. With what seemed to be no end to the rain in sight, I headed to the gym and 1 1/2 hours on the trainer. As Murphy law wouldhave it, the minute I felt the gym, the sun came out and remained out for the better part of the day. Regardless, I had things to do and more dog walking on the agenda. No crying or second guessing my decisions this week. With the husband out of town, I am on a tight schedule. First things first, sneakers!
I head back to super runners world, my sneakers are ready to go, almost. The dog and I waited yet again for an hour for them to shave down the orthotic to fit the shoe. Most of the time, the guys in the store make me run outside to test them out. So far this method has failed so I didn't bother. I took them home and crossed my fingers.
With most of the day gone, I was relieved when my Monday night client rescheduled to Tuesday.
I had been moving nonstop since 5:30 AM and needed to be able to sit down and have dinner. Let's just say I was relieved.
I had no idea what that meant for my Tuesday.
Up and out by 6:00 with The Dog, home for breakfast and thenback out for a 9 mile run.
Success! The sneakers feel pretty good. By mile 4, I have only slight numbness which is normal for me. The 9 miler takes me about two hours in time. First the walk to the park is about 12 minutes. Adding anywhere from 1-5 minutes to get a signal on the GPS, the run itself takes approx. 90 minutes and another 12 minute walk back with at least 5 minutes of stretching before Igo back up stairs. I eat another breakfast.
I walk The Dog. The afternoon walk is less taxing. The walk tothe dog park is about 10 minutes. All I have to do is stand there and make sure he behaves himself. Oh yeah, throw the Frisbeea lot. We spend just over an hour at the park. Normally we are there just about an hour but he was playing well. was alsohaving some “mommy guilt" for having to leave him alone for so long with The Husband gone. Back home and then to the gym for strength training. I cannot skip strength training. You would think it would be something to skip but I will, lecture on the benefits of strength training when I get mine back. From the gym to home, late lunch, shower.
I sat for as long as it took to file my papers to incorporate projectKick Start Alpha. Now I am just waiting for them to arrive in the mail. Eeeeek so exciting.
I am scheduled to meet my client at pier 84. The best way to get there for me is to ride my bike. I know, seriously, like I have not moved enough. I promised myself that I would take the ride easy and not speed down to the location. There is no rush to get there.I will make in on time. I left the apartment with plenty of time and it only takes 12 min to get there. I get there with time to spare. We train. Or better yet, she trained, coached.
I decided to skip the West Side bike paths. At that time of the day, they get very crowded and I will wind up nothing but aggravated. So I head out to 11th Avenue, again with the promise to myself that I will take it easy on the way home.
I come up the west side, hit 11th Avenue but not before beings passed by some guy on a hybrid bike. Hey, why is he passing me. My bike is better than his. I remind myself of the promise. Ok then, off Igo up 11th.
was doing great, nice easy pace until I got passed by a little old lady. WTF. I am mostly reasonable but I can’t let that happen. I hit 61st street, which is a hill, blasted past her at the light and took off. Just as I crest the hill, she passes me! How on earth is this possible? She is old and she is on a bad bike. Then I see it.The bike has a motor. It only looks like she is pedaling. With my competitive spirit intact, I concede. I am sure she had no idea we were racing.
By the time I get home, I got text from The Husband that he is on his way and he will be home shortly. YIPPEE!
Normal life resumes on Wednesday, sort of. I am still in training with only six weeks to go. I still have to get through the workouts for the rest of the week.
Wednesday was a 90 minute ride. 90 minute somewhat translates in about 21 miles.
I again start in Central Park but the tourists on rental bikes once again proved to be too much. head to Riverside Drive. I am trying to get in as much park time as I can. The terrain is so challenging. I really needed that to step up my game from last year. I hate The Big Hill and I love The Big Hill.
My ride on Wednesday is too late in the day. I just don't have the energy in late afternoons that I do uh the morning. I am trying to get out early but circumstances this week just didn't allow for it.
A late workout on Wednesday and an early 6 mile run Thursday morning followed by a 1200 meter swim and I am just about wasted. I need rest and I realize now that swimming on Sunday was a mistake. 13 days of training without a rest day is not helping my performance and it certainly is doing nothing form state of mind. I have been falling asleep almost immediately and sleeping like the dead. I cannot wait for Sunday.