Monday, April 8, 2013

Out of Sync


Hi. It's Laura. 

Playing catch up is tiring. 

This past Friday was The Husband's birthday. It’s not that we had one big celebration but a bunch of little ones all weekend long. So yes, I blame him [Editor’s note: I’ll take it]. 

It all started Thursday night with The Snow Bunny. She dubbed our evening out (which was dinner in) a pre-birthday celebration. Let the champagne flow! 

Too much vino and staying up too late does not make for a great workout on Friday. It was bad enough in fact, that there was no workout on Friday. Before you start jumping all over me by saying “See you do it too”, I actually don't do it too. 

Saturday found me doubling up my workout in order to get every workout in that I needed to get in. So Saturday started with a 3 mile run, followed by lunch, followed by a 75 minute bike ride and then, yes, a nap. So I made up for Friday on Saturday.

There was no rest on Sunday, There was golf. I like golf, not nearly as much as the husband, (which is why I don't compete in it) but I do enjoy a good round. We traveled south for our first round of the season [Editor’s note: It was a birthday request so blame me here too]. To top off the birthday festivities with a bonus, my brother joined us. It was a beautiful day minus the wind. Normally on Sundays, there is no workout of any kind. In the true nature of rest, rest is not necessarily nothing. It is something different than your ordinary workout and less taxing. For sure, things like yoga (the restorative kind) and golf qualify as rest from the trials of triathlon training.  

A late Thursday night, a late Saturday night combined with a double workout and a golf infused Sunday will equal a very unhappy Monday morning, especially with tree allergies swirling about. 

For the second day in a row I awoke looking like a monster with swollen puffy eyes and cheeks from the little bit of pollen that is already out. I can't wait to see what it’s going to be like in another couple of days after the warm weather and the trees really start to bloom. Ugh. 

So all of this adds up to Monday morning. Mondays are not typically all that bad in my world but, when you sleep through your alarm first thing Monday, it’s generally not a good start. 

So my 6 mile run for today turned itself into a 4.5 mile run. Allergies kicking my a**! Being tired from a long weekend, there was no way I was going to be able to pull off a long run. 

I tried. I really did. I left the house with the full intention of getting it done. I got outside turned on my GPS and of course it’s dead. I have no idea how this happened. The battery is rechargeable and every day after my workout I download the workout into the software and leave it plugged in until it reads: battery charge complete. I put it away on Saturday completely charged. Ugh. How on earth am I going to be able to run without knowing what I have done or are doing?  

I had some hope as I walked towards central park because it was trying to find a GPS satellite and just steps from the park, it had one.  

I headed in and just one minute and 45 seconds in, it died. NOOOOO! 

How many calories will I burn? How fast am I going? Can I even complete my run with no technology?  

Since I don't actually need technology to make my legs move. I continued on resolving to run my Wednesday run (45 minute run) instead on my Monday run (60 minutes) justifying it through, I’m tired, my allergies suck and I can do it on Wednesday instead.  

Running without my GPS was strange. I felt more like a casual jogger instead of an athlete training for an event. Things I am highly unlikely to do with GPS on: stop and fix my keys that are rattling around in my shoe, stop to pee along the running route, look at the sky and watch the dogs run. All of which I did today. I think I even smiled at someone mid run.  

I may consider taking off the watch after the triathlon is over and see what it’s like to be a casual runner.  

In the end I think I may have run just a little faster without the GPS watch on. 

Off to the pool! I am still catching up there as well from the pool being closed my first week of training.  

So far the best part of Monday morning has been the pool (wait, did I say that?). Two people were in my lane when I walked in. I made three and three we stayed. Everyone was in the proper lane, swimming at a great pace. The two other women were super cooperative when it came to passing and being passed. A good pool day. YAY! 

If all goes well this week by Monday of next I should be all caught up and back on a good schedule. 

Play hard! 

Laura

No comments:

Post a Comment