Hi. It's Laura
Tri-training is really
not the same when you are only training in two disciplines.
It is no secret that I
swim at the JCC on the Upper West Side.
It is part of their annual custom to close the pool during Passover for
a thorough cleaning. They were schedule
to open yesterday and open they did.
The pool is an endless
plethora of training stories. When the
clientele is as arrogant and entitled as they are, drama ensues. Don’t get me wrong. I am very grateful to
have a pool to swim in but I could do without the drama. The quiet swims are few and far between. When
they come my way I embrace them.
Truth-be-told, I have not
been swimming for the last two months. Even before the pool closed for the
annual cleaning, I was kind of avoiding it.
I am not a fantastic swimmer and I do not particularly enjoy being wet.
I do like bragging about my triathlon accomplishments, so to the pool I
go. Now that it is open I have some work
to make up. I am scheduled in my
training to only swim twice a week. Making up the swims should not be too
difficult. I just need to swim one extra per week and in two weeks I will be
caught up.
The pool reopened
Wednesday morning at 5:30 am. I figured
that everyone who has been sitting on the sidelines for the last 8 days is
going to be raring to get back in. The plan is to avoid the early morning
pre-work hours, late morning & lunch hour rush and head over at a time that
has proved to be a tad quiet 2:00PM. I
was wrong. Seems a lot of people had the
same idea.
On the pool deck I saw at
least 4 people in every lane. At least one or two more swimmers were standing
on the sidelines either getting out or performing the swimmer’s version of
Hamlet: “To swim or not to swim? How many people are there?”
I have a race to train
for so I had no choice. Regardless of how busy it was, I had to swim.
I did decide that,
because it has been two months, I would start off in the medium slow lane.
The pool is five lanes.
Two slow lanes on the outside. In these two lanes people are allowed to do
additional things besides swim such as water exercises, jog or walk.
The next two lanes are
medium slow and medium fast (this is usually me). The problem is that people do not like to
admit that they are slow. Slow people wind up swimming in the medium fast
lanes. They cannot however wind up in the fast lanes because those fast
swimmers are really fast and you would be removed immediately. Medium slow and medium fast is a gray
area.
This is why I am always
getting into fights at the pool. There
is nothing worse than building momentum and having a great swim only to be shut
down by someone doing the breast stroke or being in the wrong lane. The breast
stroke is much slower than freestyle. You almost need to drop down a category
to swim the breast stroke in the pool.
Yesterday I wound up
swimming in the proper lane, but I watched as someone else's swim was
destroyed.
There were four of us in
the lane with potential for one more to enter (who was sitting on the edge of
the pool vacillating between swimming in the medium slow or slow lanes. When I got to the wall to reset between sets,
a lady in a gold cap, who had swimming in my lane slowly, decided that, since there
was nobody in the fast lane, she was going to swim there. However, there was someone in the fast lane and
she just did not see them or chose not to.
She announced her lane choice allow to everyone that was listening of
her decision (which was probably only me).
I was almost shocked at
her blatant disregard for anyone else in the pool (then I remembered what my
subway rides are like). Clearly this is
not a quiet pool so why do you think it is ok to inconvenience somebody else? Even
if it were empty, a fast swimming person could be in that lane at any moment (AND
THERE WAS ALREADY A FAST SWIMMER IN THE LANE SHE IGNORED!).
I am very aware of my swimming
abilities, both good and bad, and would not dare "cross the line"
into the fast lane when I have not been swimming for two months.
As it turns out, the
lifeguard who was off duty and swimming herself mentioned that, that particular
person, donated somewhere in the neighborhood of $10 million dollars to the
JCC. In my opinion, if you have that money to donate, you should build your own
pool somewhere else and then you can swim anywhere you want.
I am not complaining, I
am just observing. I wish I could be
that blind sometimes to my environment and the people in it. However, I was
raised properly with manners and morals. I am sure there is someone out there
at I have offended they just are not blogging about it.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment