Hi. It's Laura
Happy Monday!
Now that Monday morning has arrived, I am much calmer than I
was on Saturday morning so I think I can write this without getting all worked
up again.
I took my time getting out of bed Saturday. And why not? It
was Saturday with no real plans (we considered going skiing but since I crashed
the car that was not really an option [Editor’s note: Scratched the car and it
is getting fixed]).
I was waiting for the temperature to rise just a little. I
had a 75 minute bike ride scheduled and knew I was going to be cold. During the
week we had already discussed not making the drive up to VT. Had we made a
different decision I would have doubled up my work outs and did my ride one day
during the week, most likely on a day that I was running. There is no swimming
just yet as the pool is closed until Wednesday (a blessing I say).
Anyway, I took off for my bike ride. During my preparation,
I realized there is just so much more that goes into riding than running. First,
I need the bike (super helpful) helmet, long pants that will not catch in the
gears, at least two shirts one for wicking and one for breaking wind, special
shoes, gloves, contact lenses and sunglasses. I would have used a balaclava but
I left them all in VT to ski. So I wore a cap under my helmet. Also, let's not
forget all the gear for just in case I get a flat tire, water and oh yes,
sunblock.
When I left the apartment, it was 50ish degrees with a
little wind. I cannot find the wind chill calculator that I use to figure out
the skiing temperature but I knew I would be moving about 15-18 mph. This takes
my temp down to like 35 degree, chilly! In the shade it was much colder and I
cursed all the way to Riverside Park. I couldn't wait to be in the sun.
I mentioned that I got a later start to my day and that
changes everything. The West Side was quite busy. It was a beautiful morning
for a walk or a run, so I understand all the people.
If you have never been to the West Side or have not been in
a while, it is really quite lovely.
There are also still some pretty nasty areas like the two
sanitation depots but overall a very nice ride to the tip of Manhattan.
The west side used to be one lane for both cyclists and
runners. Part of the improvement has been the separation of the two. The signs
say runners should be closer to the water in their own lane and cyclist and
rollerbladers should be closer to the highway in their own lane. Of course
people just don't follow the rules which is where "left” comes in. Road
rules dictate stay right, pass left. Ideally everyone would walk single file at
worst two across (I have seen as many as four across, EGADS). The lanes are
just wide enough on the cycling side for two people to run side by side and a
bike to pass them safely on the left. When you call out "left" that
means I am coning up on your left, NOT move left. How many times have I
corrected people with "no your other left" or "I AM ON YOUR LEFT
SIDE" they still move left (not all, but a lot). I am fully aware that
people do not have eyes on the back of their heads so I do like to give them a
heads up that I am coming up on them and not to move.
If you are not aware, cyclist generally wear special shoes
that attach to the bike pedals. When you are riding, you are literally
connected to the bike. You may have noticed that cyclists try not to stop at
red lights or stop signs so they do not have to unclip from the bike. It’s also
why I tip over from time to time.
So as I said, Saturday morning was quite busy and this was
my first outdoor ride this season. Knowing the pathway was busy, I made sure I
had only one ear bud in and that I was paying attention. I got down to about
Laight Street when out of nowhere a runner came careening into the cycling
lane. I saw him shoot straight across the path and as I saw him I moved my bike
away from the right side to avoid hitting him. Instead he moved out further and
nailed me. The guy was about 6'2' and solid. I swear he dropped his shoulder
but whatever he did to me, I was flying across both lanes of bike traffic and
was headed for the West Side Highway. I finally came to a stop with my front
tire in the highway. It all happened so fast and I was shaking so hard I wasn't
quite sure what to do for a moment. When I got my bearings and turned around to
look, the guy was gone.
I am guessing from the reactions of people or at least the
lack of reaction of people that it was not all that bad of an accident. After
all, I did not get hit by a car, just a person and apparently did no damage to
him.
This is my second accident on the West Side path, first time
I was running and got hit by a bike.
I sat there for a few minutes. When my heart finally crept
back into my chest, I got back on the bike and finished my ride. I had
considered not finishing and I also considered calling The Husband but what
good would that do? It would worry him and then I would be behind on my
training plan. I was not hurt just scared.
I shook for the second half of my ride and rode slower home
but at least I finished.
Bring on week two!
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment