Monday, April 29, 2013

Brick Workout #1


Hi. It's Laura. 

Happy Monday. 

Saturday morning was my first brick workout for this season. 

A brick workout is a back-to-back workout of a bike ride followed immediately by a run or it could be a swim followed by a bike ride. Either way both simulate how you would feel in a triathlon. A brick is double entendre: 1) the workouts are layered like bricks on top of one another 2) after a long bike ride your legs feel like bricks. (Double entendre are not always sex based. Get your mind out of the gutter.) 

It has been nine months since I have done a brick workout. I was feeling a little anxious about the whole thing on Friday. First, I the ride itself needed to be 1:45. The 10 minute run to follow.  The island of Manhattan is getting a little too small for these long rides. I have to head to Jersey.  

I have heard for years how beautiful the ride is just over the GWB. Last year I made it into NJ once on a long ride. And without knowing where I was going, I figured it out (after the wrong turn that nearly got me onto the Palisades Parkway, oops). 

So, knowing that I needed distance, I was definitely headed to Jersey.  

On beautiful Saturday mornings in the City, crowds are everywhere you go. The plan is get out early and be done before all the big groups like "Team in Training" start hogging up the roads and parks.  

Friday night I got my things together. Everything I would need to move from the bike ride into the run was stuffed into my bag: A towel, sunglasses, running hat, suntan lotion, and sneakers. 

Next to the bag I laid out most of my cycling gear. For some reason, I neglected to take down the bike and helmet. We have a vertical bike rack in the apt and in my mind it was ok to leave it up instead of getting it near the door. So the bike and helmet stayed on their hooks. Which is not really a big deal unless you are trying to get out early. Based on the weather channel app, I chose my outfit. The weather is such a challenge in training.  

Saturday morning. 

Up on time. Good start. Base layer; shorts; knee socks; shoe covers; suntan lotion; skull cap; helmet. 

I generally always ride with contact lenses. I popped them in before walking out the door. My left eye felt a little scratchy. I figured it would work itself out as it usually does. Right out of the gate, I decided I was underdressed. The temperature was in the low 40's and I was already on my way. I hoped that I would warm up. At the first traffic light, I donned my skull cap (I had originally shoved in my saddle bag thinking it was a bit warmer) and zipped my jack to my chin. There was not a whole lot I could do about my fingers since I choose regular cycling gloves over winter gloves.  

I headed out onto Riverside Drive. Riverside is great rolling hills ride without a ton of traffic. It is also one of the easiest routes to the GWB. As I head north, I decide I need to fix my contact lens which has not quite adjusted itself yet. I needed a traffic light to do that. I have no problem sticking my finger in my eye usually. However, just 10 minutes in I popped my chain with some aggressive gear changing. grrrr.  

With the chain fixed and my hands covered in bike grease, I decided to try to slide my contact but can't. The clock is ticking, I have got to go. The Husband is my team. He meets me at the end of my ride to take the bike off my hands so I can go run. Back on the bike.  

Riverside is so wonderfully quiet and I know it is not going to last. I see all the cyclists looking for parking and others who are waiting on corners for the rest of their people to arrive.  

Just before I head over the GWB, I make my first pit stop. I do not ride with a bike lock. The one I have is too cumbersome (and necessarily so). I wind up always taking the bikes into the bathroom with me. I forgot about the contact lens although it’s still irritating me. Onto the Bridge! 

The climb up to the bridge is a narrow ramp with a very sharp turn in the middle. Up is not a problem. The first third of the bridge is just wide enough for two bikes to pass each other just don't wiggle or tilt. The middle is wide enough that you are not afraid of hitting handle bars and you could even pass a pedestrian if you needed to. There are two more stations on the bridge were slow is necessary because you are making some technical short turns into oncoming bike and pedestrian traffic. At this hour of the morning, it was still pretty quiet. 

Once over the bridge, I made a right and headed into Englewood cliffs. From the bridge to the end of that road is again more rolling hills that parallel 9W.  

Apparently I was riding pretty aggressively Saturday morning. With four minutes left before I need turn around, my chain fell off again. grrr. I climbed off the road and into the dirt on the side. I quickly needed to climb out because I was sinking into the dirt. It was almost like quicksand. I was struggling this time to get the chain back on. Every time I got it on and run the pedal, it would slip. I also could not lean the bike against anything because of the quicksand like dirt. On the verge of tears, somebody stopped to help me. YAY! He got my chain on lickety-split and off we went. I was so frustrated I once again missed the opportunity to yank out my contact lens which was so irritating but now my hands were filthy dirty. Now, I don't want to stick my dirty, greasy, sweaty finger in my eye.  

Chain fixed, I hit my mark and head back.  

At his point in the morning, cyclists are everywhere. It’s almost like, as they pass each other, they are reproducing. The ride back over the bridge in the narrow parts was pretty scary. No one wanted to slow down and as I mentioned the bridge in some parts is quite narrow. I flew back once I made it over the GWB. 

South on Riverside you don't really have to worry about the traffic light because no cars come from the right and the cars that do enter only enter from the left. It also is more of a downhill ride home.

I met The Husband and The Dog in riverside just a few minutes before our designated time. I was quite surprised to see the amount of people in the park. I headed out extra early to avoid this kind of chaos, the big groups usually meet up around 9am so to see so many was quite surprising. 

Transition was quick and loud. I pulled in and immediately started complaining about all of my equipment while simultaneously changing into my running gear. My contact lens is still giving me a hard time. The iShuffle ear bud clip broke and the iShuffle itself would not stay in place and wound up in my pocket .My hands were cold and I was very hungry. We are at the end so let's just get this done because I get breakfast after this.

We meet near the actual transition spot for the triathlon (very nice to have the race in your own backyard). Out of T2, for race day, is the hill out of Riverside park onto 72nd street. I had such a hard time last year with the hill, I decided that all the bricks this training season would include that hill.  

The run thank goodness was only 10 minutes. I had such a wicked cramp in my right side and my legs actually feel like bricks. I had a hard time picking my legs up and getting my feet off the ground. We should probably call it more of a shuffle than a run. These bricks did not at all feel the way they felt at the end of last season (go figure). Being the first brick of the season, I forgot to stand up on the bike and stretch out a little before I got to transition which caused the cramping.  

I know they get better from here but this one was probably the most difficult brick in training that I have had.  

Once home, immediately run to the mirror to take out the offending contact lens. It turns out it was actually crumpled up and underneath my upper eyelid. Oh, the relief. 

I will spare you the details of my beastly behavior afterwards. I neglected to eat on the bike until it was too late. My blood sugar was way too low. Food could not enter my mouth fast enough at this point. Happily for those around me, the effects of calories ingestion on my disposition were rapid. phew.


We get to do it all again next weekend but lessons learned. 

Play hard! 

Laura

 

 

Friday, April 26, 2013

4 Sports Not 3


Hi. It's Laura. 

I certainly can't complain about the weather anymore. How glorious the last few days have been.  

Where to start? I always have difficulty getting started writing on Fridays, always for various reasons. 

Wednesday seems to have been the turnaround day. I had a beautiful ride along the East River, although I was convinced all morning long that I had a park ride. I had to keep reminding myself that no hills were needed for Wednesday's ride, just a nice long flat.  

Mission accomplished. 

Thursday was a completely different story. I am guessing you are aware that triathlon is swim, bike and run. Traditionally these events are in immediate succession. So what happened yesterday, I will have to call Laur (for Laura) athlon (Greek: contest) Laurathlon. It doesn't roll smoothly off the tongue but it works well enough. 

Thursday morning started with a 5 mile run with hill repeats. Can I curse enough about the wind? Egad. 

The wind was so fierce I  considered going home half way to the park. I checked the temperature and it was 46 degrees. If you add 20 degrees, as my formula states, then capri running pants and a long sleeve should do the trick. Nope! 25-33 MPH wind gusts certainly added a nasty little chill to the air. I was convinced that I was under dressed until I got going. By the end of my first mile, my hands warmed up and the rest of me followed shortly after. The wind gust did nothing for my eyesight the rest of the day. I really need to do a better job of checking the weather. 

I also need to add eye protection on windy days. My eyes, because they tear in the wind, were swollen like I had been crying. Not a good look for anyone. 

Run complete and home I head for breakfast. Or shall we call this T1 (transition 1)? 

On to the gym. I have been neglecting my strength training for the last few weeks. Wait! Before you start in on me, I have been nursing a little shoulder injury and continued my other training.  

I did miss strength training. A few weeks ago I started to experience pain in my shoulder which I self diagnosed as overuse at the rotator cuff. Everything I did with the arm hurt. I couldn't put lotion on, dry my hair or even walk the dog without pain. Not so painful that I couldn't swim but pain nonetheless.  

It seemed that after about 100 meters of warm up, it was ok. I know I was shorting my strokes but I was already behind on my training plan and the work needed to get done. It's amazing how quickly you start to lose strength, cardio conditioning is lost faster, but strength starts to go at about two weeks. I am happy to report that I have no severe muscle soreness from my time strength training. I can certainly tell that I have not been in two weeks. I was very careful with the shoulder and dropped all my weights down slightly just to be on the safe side. I finished off with a solid 10 minutes on the foam roller. Aaaah. 

Strength training complete or T2 

To the pool! When you swim 1200 meters on Monday, 900 meters on Thursday feels like a break. I will happily admit, I had no desire to swim after running and lifting. I was tired and hungry.  

Thursday mornings at the JCC is a bit of S**t show. There is an aqua class that seems to be very popular with the older ladies of the community. It’s set to music and it’s very full. Of the 5 lanes in the pool, they take up two of them. This does not bode well for the rest of us who are just swimming. We are condensed down to fast, medium and slow and it never fails that the lifeguards forget to adjust the signs so it’s actually fast, medium slow and slow. I of course am in the medium slow and people who would not normally be in this lane are in this lane because they are oblivious to everyone and thing around them. I can't move to the fast lane because I am not that fast. There were some serious swimmers in fast lane at the time. Plus its women only, so modest & noncompetitive women tend to show up in this time slot. It was a long painful swim. Long because I had to keep waiting and painful because I hit someone's hand twice as I stroked over (a common occurrence). Also, a woman was swimming some odd stroke that I have never seen before. It is a combo of side stroke and butterfly that aided her in taking up the entire lane. As we passed, our legs smashed.  

On Thursdays, I also need to keep an eye on the clock and get out of the pool before the class ends. There are only so many showers and once the class let's out there is a waiting line. I have been lucky in my timing so far.  

Swim complete onto T3 because this is Laurathlon not triathlon. 

Food! At the end of it all, I could feel the energy drain and really only wanted to curl up somewhere and sleep but I needed serious calories. I headed to my favorite lunch spot only to find out that their credit card machine was down. I rarely have cash on me. My heart was so set on a turkey burger for lunch that I was actually paralyzed at the counter and could not figure out what to do next. I got this incredible idea to look in my wallet. AH HAH. Cash, go figure. I ordered and devoured my turkey burger (I think it’s was gone in only two bites, so lady like). Once I left and was on my way elsewhere I realized I had not had enough food. I headed to juice generation and the place was PACKED, line out the door packed.  

Not going there. I finally remembered that the GNC on Columbus has a smoothie bar. Oh, the peanut butter goodness. I could immediately feel the difference. I was getting the right thing into me.  

Recovery? A little afternoon shopping therapy. 

Saturday is my first brick workout. If you recall a brick is a bike ride followed immediately by a run to simulate how it would feel in the actual race. I have done the actual race and although these bricks are necessary, you don't feel anything like it on race day. On tap is a two hour bike ride and a 10 minute run followed by breakfast and a nap, a long one. 

Happy Friday! 

Laura

 

 

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

90!


Hi. It’s Laura.

It was not really a happy Monday.

It was my day for the morning dog walk. Don't get me wrong, I love the dog. I spend a lot of time with him and most of the time he is great. Our morning walks are generally always the same, to Central Park, up to & around the great lawn and then home. All told it’s about 3miles.

I would prefer the morning to have been warmer. As a matter of fact, I would prefer every day to be warmer for that matter. Please don't misunderstand, I like cold. I am skier; I need the cold for snow to happen. But ski season is over and it is nearly May. It’s time to be outdoors without freezing

It should be at least 10 degrees warmer (yes, I am going to whine for the entire time today).

Once again I have shifted around my run and my ride to avoid rain. The original forecast for Tuesday rain apparently is now not happening. So Monday's workouts included a 1200 meter swim and a 65 minutes bike ride with hill repeats.

The temperature Monday morning was 42 degrees. 42 degrees is an incorrigible child for cyclists. I am also not a fan of wind and riding or running [Editor’s note: It sucks for golf too].

Ok, back to the day. I walked the dog, came home for breakfast and somehow it turned into that day. I sat and the dining room table shivering, tired and unable to get myself out to ride. I knew I was going to be cold. Postponing to later in the day was not really going to be much better as the high for the day was only going to be 50 with 13 MPH winds. Ugh. To make matters worse, I found my wind chill calculator that I use for skiing. The winds were 13 MPH, my average speed is 15 MPH which equals a total of 28 MPH. Add the temperature, and that takes my ride down to 27 degrees. I decided to swim first but the idea of getting into the pool for my swim and being wet was also not thrilling me.

I finally got motivated to swim. At 8:15, in the morning the pool should not be that crowded. The pool water was cold so it didn't help my start. Being tired, I decided to spend my time in the medium slow lane. I should not have been there. I was moving pretty quickly for being so tired. I stayed because I thought that, as my swim went on, and it was a long one, I would slow down. Apparently not. I am sure I upset a few people by swimming on top of them. It would not have been that bad had the woman, that the lifeguards moved to the slow lane, actually stayed there. She was very insulted that they called her slow, "I’m slow? Am I really that slow?” Some days I'm the jackass. I should have moved but by the time I knew I wasn't going to slow down, I was done. Even my cool down was fast.

I don't know if it happens to everyone, but I shake after I swim (not from cold but from exertion). So it’s always important for me to eat afterwards (it’s important to eat within 30 minutes of the end of your workout but that is a different entry). I put together my cottage cheese and strawberries when I accidently knocked the French press onto the pantry floor. Glass meets tile. Ugh. The last thing I needed right now was to clean up glass. I am shaky, needing to eat, and now have to clean up a small, harrowing mess. Not happy Monday.

Mess cleaned, food eaten. Onto the ride, almost. The dog and I headed over to EMS. Yes, it’s time. I finally broke down and bought shoe covers for my cycling shoes. My cycling shoes are meant for warmer weather. Almost the entire top is mesh, so when you are moving at 15 MPH they get very cold.

With the morning almost gone, I knew I have got to go and get this done. I have too much work to do daily to move the bike ride to another day. Believe me, I thought about it. But a 15 mile ride on top of a 7 mile run is just not going to work for a Tuesday.

I dress in: skull cap, UnderArmour base layer, Fila slightly insulted windbreaker, slightly insulted running pants, bike shorts on top, gloves, gator and shoe covers. All Black to absorb as much sun as possible. I may as well have put on a ski outfit.

Off I went. But not before I dropped my keys down the hall way stairs. 5 flight of stairs. Did I really need this? I am already cranky, cold and tired.

Thankfully the park was quiet. I knew I had 65 minutes to ride and had to do hill repeats. Two big loops (6.2 mi each) and one little loop (1.7 mi) to round out the day. I was not cold in any parts that were covered. My face and finger tips tell a different story.

And so did my ride. Are you familiar with cadence?

In cycling, cadence is the number of revolutions of the crank per minute. Roughly speaking, this is the rate at which a cyclist is pedaling or “turning the pedals”. Cadence is related to wheel speed, but it is a distinct measurement.

I used to ride for speed and now I ride for cadence. An average cadence for a pro cyclist is about 90. Lance Armstrong's cadence was never higher than 110. A recreational cyclist’s is somewhere between 60-80. it take a little time to get accustomed to having your legs move that quickly when you start cycling for cadence. You adapt quickly. Once you see results you will happily stick to it. A nice high cadence in a big gear and you are going far and going fast.

I have been averaging 84/85 on my rides this year where as last year I was in the 70's

Today, I get to brag a little here, I was able to maintain 90 in the park. WOOHOO. If you are familiar with the hills in Central Park, you will WOOHOO too.

Once I left the park, I slowed down considerably and it brought my average to 89. But still!

For all of the hemming and hawing and carrying on that I went through Monday morning, I guess it was necessary for me today to get me out the door and perform.  I can’t say that the day didn’t kick my butt, it did.  I was exhausted at the end of the day and suffering from a little bit of wind burn in the face.  It was  early to bed for me.

You are stronger than you think you are.
 
 
Play hard!
Laura

 

Monday, April 22, 2013

1 day 6 Outfits


Hi. It’s Laura. 

Happy Monday. 

I love when a plan comes together. 

At the end of last week, I moved things around in my training schedule in order to avoid bike riding in the rain. 

Let me explain. The triathlon will happen rain or shine. Since nothing should be new on race day, at some point I will need to ride in the rain. The ride I moved called for Hill Repeats (climb a hill for 1-2 minutes and recover for two minutes). Central Park is perfect for hill repeats because I don't have to go find a hill. The whole park is a series of hills. The biggest hill in Central Park (mentioned here numerous times) is located in the northern part of the park. However, before the climb there is a huge downhill. I am nervous coming down the hill when the weather is good let alone when the roads are slick with rain.  

I was able to avoid this dangerous condition on by switching my scheduled Saturday ride to a run. When I woke up in the middle of the night on Friday and heard the pouring rain, I was very happy I had made the right choice. To finish out my training week all I had left was a 30 minute run in drizzle.  

Preparing to leave I see the temperature is 52. Using the 20 degree rule, shorts and a long sleeve technical shirt should be perfect. It was.  

I decided to take advantage of The Husband's golf outing [Editor’s note: The rain kept the course quiet too] and was prepared to head to the gym for strength training. 

Anyway, so I headed home for breakfast before heading back out to lift. 

Did you know there is an unwritten law that you cannot wear "running" clothes to lift in? Did you know that there is an unwritten law that you can't wear your cycling clothes to run in? Apparently I have these crazy rules for myself which delayed me actually getting out the door. I was absolutely convinced that I could not wear my running clothes to the gym. They are for running right? I have to change into more appropriate strength training clothes, right?


It got me thinking: “How many wardrobe changes do I go through in a day?” 

Depending on the day, as many as 6. SIX! 

If it is a day that I have morning dog duty: dog walking clothes, cycling outfit, bathing suit & whatever I wear over the bathing suit (we can count that as one ensemble), back into dog walking clothes for an afternoon walk, street clothes for when I finally get clean and then a new set a workout clothes to meet a client followed by PJ's. 

That is a lot of wardrobe changes in one day. And a lot of laundry.
 

Days I don't have morning dog duty: running clothes, back into dry clothes for breakfast or into dry gym clothes to go the gym, dog walking clothes, street clothes, client clothes and finally PJ's. 

I resolved to stay in my running clothes Saturday morning and headed over the gym. Other than the fact that I was completely underdressed for walking outside in a non-running capacity, I was shocked that the sky did not fall nor was I so smelly that people were moving away from in the gym either.  

The Husband has a rule that he cannot work out after lunch nor can he work out in the morning if he has already had coffee. Yet he will play golf and other competitive activities in the afternoon. Find your “Rules”, identify them and don’t let them stop you from doing what you need to do. 

Play Hard

Laura

 

 

 

Friday, April 19, 2013

5 Days of Nothing


Hi. It's Laura.  

Happy Friday! 

This week was a recovery week for me. Apparently it was in the cards for me to recover from everything. 

After building my distance, endurance and intensity for the first four weeks of training, I am able to pull back and allow my body to recover before starting the next four weeks of higher intensity training. 

I wish I could say it was an exciting week. I wish I had some stories to tell. But as of this moment, I have not much to tell. You know it’s a boring week when I am more worried about my fresh manicure in the pool than I am about whether or not I swimming fast and long enough. 

FYI: Gel manicures ROCK! Swimming as much as I have been, a regular manicure would have fallen apart in a just two swims (can you say over chlorinated). But my last one survived two weeks.  

I rode in Central Park a few times this week, nothing. 

I ran in Central Park a few times, Drama Free. 

I swam a few times at the JCC, Uneventful. I am however all caught up on those swims. 

I had dinner plans, all got cancelled. 

I had clients scheduled in the evenings, didn’t happen. 

Weekend plans? Mother Nature isn’t ready! 

I know I say I hate drama but it really does make for much better stories for my blogs.  Reality TV, Cop Shows, The News, etc. Interactive drama is definitely different than what I will call people drama. The whole “you stole my boyfriend”, “you flirted with my date”, “I am sleeping on the sofa” kind of drama has no place in my world. Fights on the subway, neighbors being nosey and I forgot to charge my GPS Watch are way more my speed [Editor’s note: Don’t forget pet biological activity issues].  

Even the weather was cooperative this week. No rain interference, no big winds to worry about. Just sunny skies and calmness (at least during my training sessions). My biggest drama this week is moving Saturday's bike ride to Friday because of a forecast of morning rain on Saturday. Boohoo. My second big drama is a text conversation between The UES Girl and The Brooklyn Girl not being to pick a date to get together. 

With so little drama, I was able to focus on Project Kick Start Alpha. Business plan is complete and "under review".  

I had so much nothing going on, I considered adding another race to my "race season".  

After much hemming and hawing on my part, I decided to do another triathlon in September. The Iron Girl Athleta 

This race is what is considered a "Sprint" distance (my current training is for an Olympic distance). 1/2 mile swim, 10 mile bike ride and 3 mile run. I call this Monday.  

I figured why not? It will keep me in fighting shape through the summer and into the fall in which we have a trip planned where I may have to wear a bathing suit. (not the kind you swim in, the good kind)  

My biggest hesitation in adding the second race is the location and timing. It is being held in Sandy Hook, NJ. I won't be able to sleep in my own bed the night before or eat breakfast the way I would like but the course will be flat and short. It is also the weekend after Labor Day which is kind of awkward timing because I will be training through the holiday weekend. 

Here we are at the end of a quiet week. It cannot and will not last. I live and train in New York City. In a city of 8 million people, something is bound to happen. When it does, I will embrace it as much as I embraced the quiet of this week 

Enjoy the weekend! 

Play Hard!

Laura

 

 

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

A Somber Day


Hi. It's Laura. 

During the day yesterday, I did not have the television on nor was my time on the internet spent looking at news but more focused on Project Kick Start Alpha. 

I did receive a news alert at around 3:00PM that there was an explosion at the Boston Marathon. The only report I clicked on stated it was a controlled explosion. Obviously that was an incomplete news push. 

At first, I did not think much of it. Perhaps because of the way I received the news or perhaps because I was so focused on my task at hand. 

It was not until this morning watching “The Today Show” that I understood the full impact of what happened. I used to be a news junkie, but the news these days just makes me angry and my life isn't about being angry like that anymore (it’s bad enough I get angry and befuddled at the news that I do watch). 

This morning, watching the news and all of the video clips, I cried. I cried for the people who were injured and the people who died and for the runners that were clueless approaching the finish line. I cried for the spectators who witnessed and the spectators who were injured and the children on the sidelines who were watching and will never forget.  

I cried out of fear and what we already lived through on 9/11.  

Sporting events like marathons are supposed to bring us together through inspiration not fear. 

My thoughts and prayers are with everyone in Boston and for all the runners and spectators who were there.
 

Laura

Friday, April 12, 2013

Self Fulfilling Prophecy


Hi it's Laura.

 

I am not sure if you are aware but before I decided to do triathlon and before I tore my ACL & meniscus, I trained in mixed martial arts. I trained pretty much daily for over 10 years. Not only did I receive my black belt, I achieved Joshu status. Joshu is an apprentice to Sensei. Once a Joshu, you are on the path to become a Sensei. I however was not interested in becoming a Sensei and was perfectly at Joshu. I was happy teaching my Sensei's classes. Joshus get to do all the grunt work for Sensei (part of the initiation process). But you learn an awful lot along the way. My Sensei was very proud of me and was convinced I would be a good instructor (he was right). The things I learned during my years under my Sensei are absolutely invaluable and translate themselves to real life at least for me.

 

For example, self-discipline. I had none before I started martial arts training. When we taught discipline to children (yes, I taught children) we called it "non quitting spirit". One of my Senseis (I had two) even used me as an example to one of the kids classes we were teaching. I broke my toe (yeah yeah) kicking someone. My toe caught his elbow throwing a round kick. I still showed up for classes on Saturday (to teach not to train) which showed the kids no matter happens to you, you need to follow through and not give up.

 

A lot of back story I know.

 

Last Wednesday, The Husband and I watched the ultimate fighter (it’s on Tuesdays, we DVR it to get through way too many commercials). Over the years, a number of contestants on the show have been from my martial arts school. Not all of them were from the Manhattan location until this season, Uriah Hall. Uriah was not originally from the Manhattan school but transferred in a few years ago from I think Hoboken (I know those of you who know will correct me).

 

If you have not yet seen the season or last Tuesday’s episode SPOILER ALERT.

 

In last week's episode, the contestants were asked to submit to the governing body who they would like to fight for their quarter-final match, their ideal match up if you will. One contestant submitted three names of the four fighters available. Bubba McDaniel’s named everyone left except for Uriah Hall. The Husband and I just looked at each other and agreed that Bubba, just by saying he was only willing to fight three of the four left, was tipping his hand. Why wouldn't he want to fight Uriah? If you had seen other episode and seen him fight, you wouldn't want to fight him either. But these guys are supposed to be warriors, they are MMA fighters. The true winning answer is, I will fight anyone and do whatever it takes to get to my goal.

 

Bubba spent the rest of the episode setting himself up to fail through excuses of not feeling well. He went so far as to go to the hospital for blood work. Instead of focusing on the task at hand, his upcoming fight. The producers even included a substitute fighter in the episode "just in case”. Bubba quit before he even started and realized his worst fear: he lost. Not only did he lose, he was KO'd within the first 30 seconds (Hello Mike Tyson) and it looks like he eye socket was broken.

 

One more reference. The Husband and I watched a DVR'd episode of Chopped last night.

 

The chef's had to cook from a basket that was chosen by the viewers through social networking sites. Two of the four chefs bitched and complained the entire first round about how awful the basket contents were. One of the four accepted the basket and moved forward with his dish [Editor’s note: The remaining chef was too busy bragging about himself to worry about the basket]. One of those 2 chefs was Chopped.

 

Round two, viewer chosen baskets again, the remaining grumpy chef bitched and complained yet again. She went on about how awful the ingredients were and how you can't make a successful dish with what she was given. The other two once again moved forward and used the ingredients as best as they could. The b&c-ing chef was chopped. Shocker I know.

 

It is so easy to quit, to walk away when things get difficult. It is very hard to stand in front of your fear and face it. The negative conversations that you can have with yourself in your head defeat you before you even start. Although fear is natural and expected, you know yourself. Know your abilities and be confident that, if you are faced with a challenging situation, you are probably more prepared than you think.

 

Happy Friday!

 

Laura

 

Waffling


Hi it's Laura.

What a week it's been so far.

Normally you are listening to me complain about the pool. I have to say, the pool has been relatively quiet. And when there have been people, everyone has been considerate and swimming in the correct lanes. I don't know what happened there but I am definitely NOT complaining.

What has been me going this week are my bike rides. Last week the rides were cold and I was wishing for a little bit of warmth (60 would have been lovely 80 is a bit too much). Moving along at 15 miles an hour or so at 40 or even 50 degrees is chilly. I double up my shirts and wear long pants. I even put a skull cap on my head under my helmet to help. What I cannot do is keep my toes warm. My cycling shoes are ventilated for warmer temperatures. I have thought about buying the covers for my shoes but I can’t bring myself to spend the money on something I am only going to use maybe twice a year so I suffer through the cold toes knowing I only have a few rides to get through.

As happy as I as to see the temperature rise in the beginning of the week, 80 degrees was just too much too soon. (It's not global warms according to a billboard that I saw on my way to New Jersey Thursday morning. Apparently there are more polar bears now than 15 years ago.)

Anyway I have stepped up my training this year from running and riding twice a week to running and riding three days a week. So as of this writing, I still have one more long ride for the week. Due to scheduling issues on Tuesday morning, I wound up taking my ride in Central Park. I had abandoned Central Park for riding last year. For the life of me could not remember why. The park is filled with hills and it’s safe. I used to ride the park every Friday morning years ago with The Blondish friend and enjoyed it. So Tuesday afternoon I headed to the park.

The ride started relatively calm. There were lots of people milling about (it was 80 degrees) with very few "bike gangs". However, there were plenty of tourists on Bike n' Roll rented bikes. As I rounded the bottom of the park, I was debating with myself whether or not I was going to climb the Big Hill. According to my GPS at the steepest part of the hill its and 8% grade. Trucks are warned on the highway when the downhill is 5%. Double Diamonds ski trails are about a 28% grade.

The internal conversation was short: If not now, when? What are you waiting for? So I climbed.

Overall the ride was not bad, just warm. Central Park road crews drew new lines on the roads to make the lanes wider for both runner and cyclists and more narrow for cars. I say YAY!

Thursday morning's ride was not nearly as uneventful.

It started the night before. If you recall, we had pretty severe thunder storms Wednesday night. So as I lay out my clothes Wednesday night, I had made the decision to ride indoors. (Spin bike to my own play list.) Upon waking Thursday morning, I changed my mind and decided to ride outside. still waffling if I should ride inside? I picked through my closet to find riding pants or shorts for an outdoor ride. There were none to be found. Oh boy is my butt going to hurt. Deciding to ride inside, I peeked out the window. The rain had stopped and I saw some dry patches on the sidewalk. Ok, outside. Back to the closet. Dressed! I know, seriously? But wait, it gets worse.

I almost made my own head explode with the internal conversation about where to ride.

MY ride was supposed to be hill repeats. Climb a hill for 1-2 minutes then spin in out for a 1-2 minute recovery. Do I go to Riverside or Central Park? It’s just before 6:00 am I don't have a lot of time to make up my mind.

Riverside: flat, long, quiet, safe. Central Park: hilly, bike gangs, not quiet, safe-ish. I want to ride the park but I do not want to deal with the bike gangs (Thursdays seems to be a big bike riding day). I hate that they are faster than me both on the flats and on the hills. I hate that they surround you to pass you instead of picking a side to pass on.

If I ride Riverside, I will have to find a hill and just go up and down it. It will not be the same if I ride Riverside. I am feeling a little intimidated by the riders in Central Park right now and I don't want to go. SCREEEEECCHHHHH!!!!! What?! Intimidated! Don’t be silly.

Here comes the lecture: “What is wrong with you? You have as much right to ride in Central Park as anyone else. You are going to be intimidated by people you have never met and don't know their story? You are a 44 year old woman who had recovered from ACL/meniscus surgery! You are awesome! Go ride in the park and don't be stupid.”

I was still waffling while I waited for a GPS signal in front our building. As I headed north on Broadway, my iShuffle played a song for me whose lyrics at that moments could not have been more apropos, "Never Let You Fear Decide Your Fate" Awolnation. I am not normally called to action by song lyrics but upon hearing that, I made a right and headed to Central Park.

Play hard!

Laura

 

Monday, April 8, 2013

Out of Sync


Hi. It's Laura. 

Playing catch up is tiring. 

This past Friday was The Husband's birthday. It’s not that we had one big celebration but a bunch of little ones all weekend long. So yes, I blame him [Editor’s note: I’ll take it]. 

It all started Thursday night with The Snow Bunny. She dubbed our evening out (which was dinner in) a pre-birthday celebration. Let the champagne flow! 

Too much vino and staying up too late does not make for a great workout on Friday. It was bad enough in fact, that there was no workout on Friday. Before you start jumping all over me by saying “See you do it too”, I actually don't do it too. 

Saturday found me doubling up my workout in order to get every workout in that I needed to get in. So Saturday started with a 3 mile run, followed by lunch, followed by a 75 minute bike ride and then, yes, a nap. So I made up for Friday on Saturday.

There was no rest on Sunday, There was golf. I like golf, not nearly as much as the husband, (which is why I don't compete in it) but I do enjoy a good round. We traveled south for our first round of the season [Editor’s note: It was a birthday request so blame me here too]. To top off the birthday festivities with a bonus, my brother joined us. It was a beautiful day minus the wind. Normally on Sundays, there is no workout of any kind. In the true nature of rest, rest is not necessarily nothing. It is something different than your ordinary workout and less taxing. For sure, things like yoga (the restorative kind) and golf qualify as rest from the trials of triathlon training.  

A late Thursday night, a late Saturday night combined with a double workout and a golf infused Sunday will equal a very unhappy Monday morning, especially with tree allergies swirling about. 

For the second day in a row I awoke looking like a monster with swollen puffy eyes and cheeks from the little bit of pollen that is already out. I can't wait to see what it’s going to be like in another couple of days after the warm weather and the trees really start to bloom. Ugh. 

So all of this adds up to Monday morning. Mondays are not typically all that bad in my world but, when you sleep through your alarm first thing Monday, it’s generally not a good start. 

So my 6 mile run for today turned itself into a 4.5 mile run. Allergies kicking my a**! Being tired from a long weekend, there was no way I was going to be able to pull off a long run. 

I tried. I really did. I left the house with the full intention of getting it done. I got outside turned on my GPS and of course it’s dead. I have no idea how this happened. The battery is rechargeable and every day after my workout I download the workout into the software and leave it plugged in until it reads: battery charge complete. I put it away on Saturday completely charged. Ugh. How on earth am I going to be able to run without knowing what I have done or are doing?  

I had some hope as I walked towards central park because it was trying to find a GPS satellite and just steps from the park, it had one.  

I headed in and just one minute and 45 seconds in, it died. NOOOOO! 

How many calories will I burn? How fast am I going? Can I even complete my run with no technology?  

Since I don't actually need technology to make my legs move. I continued on resolving to run my Wednesday run (45 minute run) instead on my Monday run (60 minutes) justifying it through, I’m tired, my allergies suck and I can do it on Wednesday instead.  

Running without my GPS was strange. I felt more like a casual jogger instead of an athlete training for an event. Things I am highly unlikely to do with GPS on: stop and fix my keys that are rattling around in my shoe, stop to pee along the running route, look at the sky and watch the dogs run. All of which I did today. I think I even smiled at someone mid run.  

I may consider taking off the watch after the triathlon is over and see what it’s like to be a casual runner.  

In the end I think I may have run just a little faster without the GPS watch on. 

Off to the pool! I am still catching up there as well from the pool being closed my first week of training.  

So far the best part of Monday morning has been the pool (wait, did I say that?). Two people were in my lane when I walked in. I made three and three we stayed. Everyone was in the proper lane, swimming at a great pace. The two other women were super cooperative when it came to passing and being passed. A good pool day. YAY! 

If all goes well this week by Monday of next I should be all caught up and back on a good schedule. 

Play hard! 

Laura

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Everyone In!


Hi. It's Laura

Tri-training is really not the same when you are only training in two disciplines.

It is no secret that I swim at the JCC on the Upper West Side.  It is part of their annual custom to close the pool during Passover for a thorough cleaning.  They were schedule to open yesterday and open they did.

The pool is an endless plethora of training stories.  When the clientele is as arrogant and entitled as they are, drama ensues.  Don’t get me wrong. I am very grateful to have a pool to swim in but I could do without the drama.  The quiet swims are few and far between. When they come my way I embrace them. 

Truth-be-told, I have not been swimming for the last two months. Even before the pool closed for the annual cleaning, I was kind of avoiding it.  I am not a fantastic swimmer and I do not particularly enjoy being wet. I do like bragging about my triathlon accomplishments, so to the pool I go.  Now that it is open I have some work to make up.  I am scheduled in my training to only swim twice a week. Making up the swims should not be too difficult. I just need to swim one extra per week and in two weeks I will be caught up.

The pool reopened Wednesday morning at 5:30 am.  I figured that everyone who has been sitting on the sidelines for the last 8 days is going to be raring to get back in. The plan is to avoid the early morning pre-work hours, late morning & lunch hour rush and head over at a time that has proved to be a tad quiet 2:00PM.  I was wrong.  Seems a lot of people had the same idea.

On the pool deck I saw at least 4 people in every lane. At least one or two more swimmers were standing on the sidelines either getting out or performing the swimmer’s version of Hamlet: “To swim or not to swim? How many people are there?”

I have a race to train for so I had no choice. Regardless of how busy it was, I had to swim.

I did decide that, because it has been two months, I would start off in the medium slow lane. 

The pool is five lanes. Two slow lanes on the outside. In these two lanes people are allowed to do additional things besides swim such as water exercises, jog or walk.

The next two lanes are medium slow and medium fast (this is usually me).  The problem is that people do not like to admit that they are slow. Slow people wind up swimming in the medium fast lanes. They cannot however wind up in the fast lanes because those fast swimmers are really fast and you would be removed immediately.  Medium slow and medium fast is a gray area. 

This is why I am always getting into fights at the pool.  There is nothing worse than building momentum and having a great swim only to be shut down by someone doing the breast stroke or being in the wrong lane. The breast stroke is much slower than freestyle. You almost need to drop down a category to swim the breast stroke in the pool.

Yesterday I wound up swimming in the proper lane, but I watched as someone else's swim was destroyed. 

There were four of us in the lane with potential for one more to enter (who was sitting on the edge of the pool vacillating between swimming in the medium slow or slow lanes.  When I got to the wall to reset between sets, a lady in a gold cap, who had swimming in my lane slowly, decided that, since there was nobody in the fast lane, she was going to swim there.  However, there was someone in the fast lane and she just did not see them or chose not to.  She announced her lane choice allow to everyone that was listening of her decision (which was probably only me).

I was almost shocked at her blatant disregard for anyone else in the pool (then I remembered what my subway rides are like).  Clearly this is not a quiet pool so why do you think it is ok to inconvenience somebody else? Even if it were empty, a fast swimming person could be in that lane at any moment (AND THERE WAS ALREADY A FAST SWIMMER IN THE LANE SHE IGNORED!).

I am very aware of my swimming abilities, both good and bad, and would not dare "cross the line" into the fast lane when I have not been swimming for two months.

As it turns out, the lifeguard who was off duty and swimming herself mentioned that, that particular person, donated somewhere in the neighborhood of $10 million dollars to the JCC. In my opinion, if you have that money to donate, you should build your own pool somewhere else and then you can swim anywhere you want. 

I am not complaining, I am just observing.  I wish I could be that blind sometimes to my environment and the people in it. However, I was raised properly with manners and morals. I am sure there is someone out there at I have offended they just are not blogging about it.

Play hard!
 
Laura

Monday, April 1, 2013

Left


Hi. It's Laura 

Happy Monday! 

Now that Monday morning has arrived, I am much calmer than I was on Saturday morning so I think I can write this without getting all worked up again.  

I took my time getting out of bed Saturday. And why not? It was Saturday with no real plans (we considered going skiing but since I crashed the car that was not really an option [Editor’s note: Scratched the car and it is getting fixed]).
 
I was waiting for the temperature to rise just a little. I had a 75 minute bike ride scheduled and knew I was going to be cold. During the week we had already discussed not making the drive up to VT. Had we made a different decision I would have doubled up my work outs and did my ride one day during the week, most likely on a day that I was running. There is no swimming just yet as the pool is closed until Wednesday (a blessing I say). 

Anyway, I took off for my bike ride. During my preparation, I realized there is just so much more that goes into riding than running. First, I need the bike (super helpful) helmet, long pants that will not catch in the gears, at least two shirts one for wicking and one for breaking wind, special shoes, gloves, contact lenses and sunglasses. I would have used a balaclava but I left them all in VT to ski. So I wore a cap under my helmet. Also, let's not forget all the gear for just in case I get a flat tire, water and oh yes, sunblock.  

When I left the apartment, it was 50ish degrees with a little wind. I cannot find the wind chill calculator that I use to figure out the skiing temperature but I knew I would be moving about 15-18 mph. This takes my temp down to like 35 degree, chilly! In the shade it was much colder and I cursed all the way to Riverside Park. I couldn't wait to be in the sun.
 
I mentioned that I got a later start to my day and that changes everything. The West Side was quite busy. It was a beautiful morning for a walk or a run, so I understand all the people. 

If you have never been to the West Side or have not been in a while, it is really quite lovely.

 The city has built areas for eating, benches for sitting, grassy areas and sculptures. Of course the Intrepid Museum is still there, generating tourist traffic, and the cruise ships come in and out along the west side as well. I was lucky enough to have run into one the ones just deboating (I know when you leave a plane the call it deplaning so… Editor’s Note: We watched Fantasy Island this weekend and I think the airlines got the expression from Tatoo… Think about it!]). Let's us also not forget Chelsea piers, Basketball city and a few new features that have cropped up over the last year or so like the boardwalk.
 
There are also still some pretty nasty areas like the two sanitation depots but overall a very nice ride to the tip of Manhattan.
 
The west side used to be one lane for both cyclists and runners. Part of the improvement has been the separation of the two. The signs say runners should be closer to the water in their own lane and cyclist and rollerbladers should be closer to the highway in their own lane. Of course people just don't follow the rules which is where "left” comes in. Road rules dictate stay right, pass left. Ideally everyone would walk single file at worst two across (I have seen as many as four across, EGADS). The lanes are just wide enough on the cycling side for two people to run side by side and a bike to pass them safely on the left. When you call out "left" that means I am coning up on your left, NOT move left. How many times have I corrected people with "no your other left" or "I AM ON YOUR LEFT SIDE" they still move left (not all, but a lot). I am fully aware that people do not have eyes on the back of their heads so I do like to give them a heads up that I am coming up on them and not to move.

If you are not aware, cyclist generally wear special shoes that attach to the bike pedals. When you are riding, you are literally connected to the bike. You may have noticed that cyclists try not to stop at red lights or stop signs so they do not have to unclip from the bike. It’s also why I tip over from time to time.
 
So as I said, Saturday morning was quite busy and this was my first outdoor ride this season. Knowing the pathway was busy, I made sure I had only one ear bud in and that I was paying attention. I got down to about Laight Street when out of nowhere a runner came careening into the cycling lane. I saw him shoot straight across the path and as I saw him I moved my bike away from the right side to avoid hitting him. Instead he moved out further and nailed me. The guy was about 6'2' and solid. I swear he dropped his shoulder but whatever he did to me, I was flying across both lanes of bike traffic and was headed for the West Side Highway. I finally came to a stop with my front tire in the highway. It all happened so fast and I was shaking so hard I wasn't quite sure what to do for a moment. When I got my bearings and turned around to look, the guy was gone.  

I am guessing from the reactions of people or at least the lack of reaction of people that it was not all that bad of an accident. After all, I did not get hit by a car, just a person and apparently did no damage to him.  

This is my second accident on the West Side path, first time I was running and got hit by a bike.

I sat there for a few minutes. When my heart finally crept back into my chest, I got back on the bike and finished my ride. I had considered not finishing and I also considered calling The Husband but what good would that do? It would worry him and then I would be behind on my training plan. I was not hurt just scared.  

I shook for the second half of my ride and rode slower home but at least I finished.  

Bring on week two!
 
Play hard! 

Laura