Hi. It's Laura.
I shouldn't call it a rule.
It is more of a guideline.
I found an article in
Runner's World a few years ago explaining the 20 degree rule for dressing to
run outside. Whatever the temperature is outside add 20 degree and dress accordingly.
For example, if running in 60 degree weather, dress for normal activity in 80
degree weather. At 80 degrees, I would wear shorts and a short sleeve shirt
with a baseball hat. At 50 degrees, I would wear shorts and a long sleeve shirt
or Capri pants and a short sleeve shirt. That is exactly what I wore this
morning. Capri running pants and s short sleeve shirt, except it felt more like
40 degrees when I walked out the door.
Before I continue, I should
explain that I am terribly cranky today. Perhaps it is because my run was so
lousy because I certainly didn't wake up this way. I awoke cozy and warm and
the bed was oh so comfy.
I normally look forward to my
Tuesday runs and today was no exception.
So as I was saying, I headed
out the front door and realized it was chillier than I anticipated so I went
back up to the apartment to change into a long sleeve shirt. Normally a little
chilly is ok today felt different
Once done, back to the
street.
Central Park is just less
than 1/2 mile away from my front door. So by the time I’m half way there, I am
warm and ready to go. Today, a block in, I realize it is misting. Damn Damn
Damn. I don’t mind misting, I don't even mind rain but today I was wearing
brand new sneakers that took over a week to get fitted. I know how this sounds
like a big bratty baby but I was upset that, on day one of my new sneakers,
they had to get wet in the rain.
Mind you I am no princess [Editor’s
Note: Uh… Never mind] when it comes to outdoor exercise. I have run in many
downpours and don't mind it one bit. But usually I know it is raining or it is
going to rain. Today, that was not the case. I checked the weather before I
walk out the door. Chris Cimino
did not mention rain in the forecast that I heard. By the time I entered
Central Park the rain was a steady downpour. Grrrr
The fact that it is was
pouring and I didn't know it was supposed to rain and that I was wearing brand
new shoes ruined the first mile of my run. (Truth be told? The first mile
usually stinks anyway.)
I can't tell you why this was
so upsetting to me today. I spent the first mile cursing the weather man (I
know, I know, colossal waste of energy and since when are weather men ever right).
I would like to say that
everything was just fine for running conditions this morning but they weren't. My
shuffle was low on battery. I was not dressed properly. I was chilly. It was
pouring rain. The park was crowded (go figure! Apparently no one knew it was
raining). And, it was just a little too dark from overcast to see the puddles
that I stomped in (with brand spanking new sneakers)
I trudged on and managed to
squeak out the rest of my run (actually cut short because of the rain and the
shiny brand spanking new sneaks).
We all find excuses to not go
to our workouts, excuses are easy. To actually go out to workout in spite of
the excuses ultimately makes us feel better after the fact. By the time I got
home, the rain had stopped and the sun started to make its way out.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment