Hi, It's Laura.
Remember when I said that I could not swim?
Turns out I can and I am just a tad better than I thought I was at the sport.
Part of my getting ready to get ready
plan is focusing on my swimming. I need to swim a mile in the triathlon and
this time around I would like to do it better.
The only way to get better is to get
in the pool and swim (Malcolm Galdwell's
10,000 hour rule).
I want to just go and swim but I need a plan to accomplish the task. There is
no better way than to break it down into smaller more conquerable parts.
Knowing that I needed to improve my
swimming I sought out professional help. In doing my research last winter, I
found an article covering the basics of swimming. I actually found a lot of
articles that cover the basics of swimming. But this one spoke to me and seems
to make the most sense.
You know how you start looking for
something on the internet and you click on an link and in that article you
click on another and another and another and another…. You have clicked on so
many that you have no idea how you got where you are. Well that is how I found
this one: 0-1650.
I read through the plan at first and
was a little intimidated. The plan is broken down into 6 week increments and
you increase your distance a little every week.
Week one for instance: swim 4, 100
meter sets, breathing for only 12 breaths between each 100.Then 4 sets of 50
meters with only 8 breaths then finally 4, 25 meter sets with 4 breaths in
between WHAT?! I will drown!
Clearly, I did not.
The author is trying to expand your
aqua lungs (your aerobic capability in the water). Here, today and the end of
week 1, I can already see a difference.
Monday morning I did my first drills
and did ok. I pushed through and at the end was surprised at how not difficult
it was. The entire swim session took me 25 minutes. Hmmm.
Wednesday I got back in the pool, same
drills and felt awesome. I felt strong and felt that this was totally a doable
plan. My breathing was definitely better on Wednesday already and I finished 5
minutes faster than Monday.
Today. slightly hung-over. Not my
fault though, I blame The Snow Bunny. She just went through a personal issue
that we tried to fix with wine. (Wine, as I have found out, is only a short
term fix. Damn it!)
The pool was packed. It looked like
Saturday at the grocery store. I decided, because I was slightly hung-over, I
would swim slowly. (This is not a joke, I really thought I could.) I would swim
slow, practice technique, take nice long strokes...
Did you know that when you add
technique you actually move faster because you are more efficient? Ooops! I
tried, I really did. I did however stay in the slower lane and tried not to be
too frustrated with the other people (due to the hangover this was actually
possible).
When I finished my 700 meters I looked
at the clock and realized I had only been in the pool for 15 minutes! I was
shocked that it only took 15 minutes to do the workout (which now I would not
even call a workout).Well Yahoo! Done for the week!
Next week is 900 meters with a
different break down of drills. I will keep you posted on the progress.
The plan now is to focus on getting up
to swim a mile (swimming 3 days a week). Once that is accomplished, I can cut
back swimming to twice a week through Jan, Feb and March but still swimming a
mile every time. I am hoping that will keep me in enough shape to start
training in March. We shall see.
BTW, I did not have a single fight in
the pool today.
Enjoy the weekend!
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment