Hi, It's Laura.
I hope you enjoyed your
weekend. I certainly did. I usually do during ski season.
I experienced last week the
slippery slope of exercise. It’s amazing what one single choice can do to your
week.
I do believe that I am very
disciplined in my workout schedule (perhaps obsessively so at times).
Not that I did not work out
on Tuesday, I did. My client however did not. There are so many issues in this
story that I have to try to focus on just the one.
We were schedule to meet at
the gym at 6PM. I arrived at 5:45 and when I emerged from the subway I had both
a voicemail and a text message asking me where the gym is exactly.
Seriously! This is not our
first trip to this location (my personal training takes me to many different gyms
around the city). This client, Lefty had been there many times but since
Hurricane Sandy, not once. This in itself is a problem. Consistency is the key
to staying fit. Not showing up and rescheduling all your sessions are bad.
I responded to both her
voicemail and text giving her the exact address and cross streets (again). I
waited and waited and finally at 6:15 she arrived. She was not dressed to work
out and was nearly in tears for being lost for so long. “Instead of working
out, can we please go for a drink?” she asks. How can I say no? She clearly
needs to talk more than she needs to punch anything.
We drink. We eat.
This is where the story
turns. There were many issues to be discussed. We ate. We drank.
We are hanging out now. We
eat. We drink. It’s late. Later than I prefer. I get home finally just after my
regular bed time. (I believe it is a well-known fact that I go bed earlier than
most 8 year olds.)
The Wednesday morning dog
walk is brutal. By the time I return from my morning volunteer work, I am
exhausted. Instead of going to the pool right away, I head to the sofa. It is a
rare week day that I nap. I tell myself just 20 minutes then I will go to the
gym. After 20, I give myself 20 more. And 20 more. So there you have it, the
edge of the cliff.
No workout for me on
Wednesday. Guilt is overwhelming and I easily succumb to it most days. My mind
is wracked with how I now fit everything in that I need to fit in workout wise.
My week is already well planned out and we are not here on the weekends anymore.
There is just no room to add in what I missed.
I carry on with my week
nearly as planned but one night out shifted everything. I am off the swim plan.
I didn't get any ride time in. I am still kind of tired from staying up too
late and drinking too much even 3 days later. (Getting older has its
disadvantages.)
Normally, I would panic. This
time I decided to forgive myself. Maturity? Stupidity? Not sure, but letting
myself off the hook is a first. I rationalize that it is early December (plenty
of time to train between now and July).
Sometimes the night out is
little more important than hitting the gym. The caveat: if you are working out
regularly, you are not immediately training for a race and you live healthy lifestyle
(most of the time), then the night out and a missed workout should not be a big
deal.
Allow yourself a little
freedom now and again and when you get back to the gym you will be better for
it.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment