Hi. It’s Laura
The title of this blog is my most detested phrase in the
English language. I feel about "It Is What It Is" like some feel
about the word irregardless. (Is it even really a word?[Editor’s note: You did
that just get me riled up. IT IS NOT A WORD!])
I was in the dog park, with the dog, Friday afternoon. He
is an avid squirrel hunter. In order to curb his enthusiasm behind the chain
link fences, I bring a ball or a Frisbee, usually a ball.
My dog is a good dog. He does all his tricks when asked,
he does not beg for food at the table and he brings back the ball. Not only
does he bring it back, he drops it either at my feet or in my hand.
We were playing ball and, just as the dog dropped the
ball in my hand, another dog snatched the ball right out of my hand. The nerve!
I went to retrieve the ball from the other dog myself but the dog kept running
away from me. After several attempts to get the ball, I finally asked the “Blank
Faced Humans” standing around (watching me make a fool of myself) who the dog
belong to. The woman, standing RIGHT NEXT TO ME, says "me". I asked
her to help me get my ball from her dog.
She called it and fought with her own dog only to finally
wrestle the ball away. She finally gets the ball away and instead of handing it
to me, she throws it at me and says "It is the dog park after all, what do
you expect?".
Really? “It’s the dog park” is your excuse for both your
dog's bad behavior and your own?
If we were on the playground and my child took your
child's toy and I said to you" it’s just the playground", would you
accept that as an answer? I think not. So this all got me thinking, why are we
so accepting of bad behavior from other people both in life and at the gym?
“It is what it is” is just lousy corporate speak for I am
too lazy to do anything about it myself.
It is just an excuse. There are plenty of times when we
all run late for something unforeseen Just recently, The Husband and I were
delayed for a dinner reservation because of a hit and run. Sadly, the person hit
by the car did not survive. So the excuse kind of works but we contacted the
restaurant to let them know we were just not blowing them off.
I know a lot of trainers and some schools will not let
you enter a class if you are too late and there are people who are habitually
late.
The art of consideration may also not survive. There are
symptoms that this hit and run patient is on life support.
1) Lateness – Soooo disrespectful! The instructor and
every other student made it to class on time even if they had to get up at 4:00A.M.
to do so. Make a little effort.
2) Talking in class – Because what you have to say is
more important? We don't care how many glasses of wine you are bragging about
having or how much you worked out yesterday. I would like to hear the
instructor please and when I am teaching I would like to be heard.
3) Leaving early – If your next appointment is so
important, why didn't you go to another class? In addition the cool down is as
important as the warm up. Staying 5-6 minutes longer won't kill you but not
staying might.
4) Doing a different workout program – If the
instructor’s workout is not your idea of exercise, why did you bother to show
up at all? (This happens in my spin class all the time. People just do their
own ride instead of following the lead rider. Why not hit the stationary bike
then?)
5) No post workout clean up – By leaving your excretions,
you just said you don't care if other people sit in your sweat. I am sure you
would not want to sit in anyone else's sweat, take a minute and wipe it down.
6) Out loud sarcastic comments to the instructor – This
just is not necessary nor is it respectful of the instructor or the other
students. If you have a problem, speak to the instructor after class is over.
[Editor’s note: I still support irony if used for the purpose of breaking
tension or if the joke is really good.]
7) Improper attire and/or forgetting equipment – Borrowing
equipment is disruptive and there is no place for provocative or dirty/stained
clothing. Have a little respect for others around you and yourself while you’re
at it.
8) Singing or talking on the phone on the treadmill or
elliptical- see number 6
9) Employees unprofessional behavior – Why do employees
feel the need to yell across the workout space? This should ever happen is in
an emergency situation. Even then I would hope the facility already has a plan
in place and step 1 is not “Yell so everyone knows to panic”. (I may have just
broken number 6.)
10) Pool etiquette – Don't even get me started about the
pool!
Not everyone, in all classes, act like Neanderthals. I
would say most people are well behaved and do show respect for themselves and
the people around them. Unfortunately it is the few who choose to disobey the
rules and go against social norms that are the standouts and wind up affecting
those people around them in a negative way. The Husband calls it the First Law
of Idiot Expansion: They will fill all areas of consideration with idiot
behavior.
Don't accept bad behavior! It is perfectly acceptable to
speak to someone about their behavior and how it it’s affecting you. Here is what
I say; bring the situation to the instructor’s attention or even the manager of
the facility. Do I say, don't do as I do.
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment