Hi. It's Laura.
Happy FridayJ!
or notL
I am feeling kind of mean todayL
I got up a little earlier than usual
because of the toeL
I am seriously challenged on cardio
workouts, so I thought I would go back to spin classJ.
The only reason stopped going was because the weather warmed up last March
(like it does every March) and I was able to ride outside (my preferred) J.
When I first woke up, I put my iPhone
and my Fitbit (Fitbit is a modern
day pedometer that measures steps, stairs, sleep and calories) on the bedside
table to start my morningJ. Then I hear a huge
crash. One of the cats had knocked my Fitbit and iPhone to the floorL
The phone was fine so was the fit bit
but I had to have The Husband get it from under the bed because it shot all the
way to the middle. grrrr. damn catL
I laid out my clothes the night before
so I would be on time for classJ. I have been
severely undisciplined about being in the gym by 5:30. Now I get there when I
can. So you can imagine my panic when, at 5:45, I can't find my gym membership
card (I know exactly where it is, it’s with my credit card hiding in a place
where I would never think to lookL).
5:50 still no card. Gotta go. I race
around the corner (yes my gym is around the cornerJ)
and head through the metal detector (because I have no card) and up to the 4th
floor to check in for class that starts at 6:00. I get my water bottle filled
and borrow a pair of cycling shoes (my cycling shoes of course do not fit indoor
bikesL). The first ones I try fit. YAYJ!
I rush to a bike that is not in the
usual spot that I used to likeJ. The room is stadium
like so I go to the back row and find a bike that is not near anyone (JCC spin classes are nothing, crowd wise,
compared to Soul CycleJ).
I get settled on my bike and start
spinning. I realize that its 2 min after the hour. PHEW! I start looking around
and the room is filled with the exact same people from the last time I was in
this class. Even better, they are all in the exact same seats! I know we humans
love patterns but not one new face.
Two more people come trickling in, its
5 after (class has not yet started FYIL). One woman enters
and I know her from the gym floor. Every time I see her on the treadmill she is
holding on for dear life. She starts to adjust her bike and can't so she
switches bikes. She tries again, no luck. On her third try she winds up on the
bike that is directly next to mineL.
Normally I don't mind [Editor’s note:
Of course she minds]. In a room with 27 bikes and only 10 people, why on earth
would you want to be right on top of someone? grrrL
Apparently the JCC got new devices for
all of their bikes and it was a very big deal to discuss how to calibrate them
in order to get your ride loggedJ. If you read the
directions it would have taken you all of 10 seconds to figure it out. Because
of this class did not start until 6:10. grrrrrL
Because this is the first full week in
January, I have been trying to avoid prime time as much as possible in the gym.
I know that, being around so many people, most of who will not have much of a
clue as to what to do in the gym, will just a annoy me (so difficult with my
hair trigger).
I made the mistake this morning of
coming home after spin class to have breakfast. I should have just stayed and
done my strength training. By the time I got back to the gym I was 8:00am.
Prime time! L Granted the crowd
looks way different than it does at 6:00PM but a crowd is a crowd.
I have my routine and fortunately for
me, it’s flexible. And thank good ness that it is because, every time I went
for an apparatus, it was occupiedL. I had forgotten
that 9:00 am classes start and the people waiting to go into classes are starting
come onto the floor and take up space. You can't calling it working out when
they only do one set and they do it with incorrect technique. grrrL
On my way out of the gym I stopped at
membership services to get my card replaced. There were FIVE people in front of
me. FIVE? at 9:00am? WTF? L Better for me to get
homeJ.
Going to the gym should be this stress
free on a Friday (or any day) and definitely at that hour of the morning. J
I know you are not supposed to sweat
the small stuffJ. But when there are
so many small things, it's like they make one big thing. Today, I will call
that big thing “Morning”L.
Once showered and fed, I start my work
day. I settled into my work space with a cup of Green Earl Gray J
(thank you Long Island GirlJ) but not before I
threw the spoon away with the tea bag. grrrrrL.
Have a good weekend and I hope it ends
with a smile. LJLJLJLJLJLJ
Play hard!
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment