Friday, January 25, 2013

Carbonation Myth Busting


Hi. It's Laura.

Happy Friday!

A debate came up last Friday night which I said I would address and have just failed to do so over the course of the week. Unfortunately, days get away so quickly.

I actually started to feel guilty over not "answering" the debate question in a timelier manner and then yesterday morning I saw an article in the NY Times that really just drove home the point for me and motivated to sit down and write this morning.


Now I am not a big soda drinker. I will occasionally indulge in a full sugar Coca Cola but it’s usually to tame a grumbly tummy and usually after everything else has failed me. If you remember (or don't) Coke syrup was originally dispensed by pharmacists for that very reason (FYI, I do not remember, I only know what I read and research). When I do indulge, I prefer a can, not a plastic bottle and I am normally feeling better just after a few sips. That does not mean I don't finish it. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. It depends on how badly the sugar bothers my teeth.

Being the advocate of healthy living that I am, I am sure you can guess where I weigh in on the proposed soda ban in NYC. This blog today is not about that, not really.

I know a lot of people use soda and other sugary beverages to quench their thirst (this includes Gatorade, sweet tea, energy drinks and even "smart" waters). I do not mean the clear smart water that is actually water but the lemon and cherry flavored ones that have calories and makes claims like, they make you smarter or boost your immune system. Since when does water have calories? The Husband and I like to point out to each other whenever we see an ad for "zero calorie" water.


Propel Water has 10 calories and 2 grams of sugar per 8oz serving. That is a whole lot better than Gatorade but again why does water have calories and sugar?

I get it, I really do. It tastes better than just plain tap water.

I am personally challenged with my water consumption. I try to drink more every day. I know the Husband (and probably the Dog) would disagree with me about the taste of water since that is pretty much all the two of them drink. I continue to try and find ways to get more water into myself and one of the solutions for me is bubbles and flavor.

This brings up its own set of problems. How to flavor water without adding more calories (not a lemon fan in my beverages)? I discovered extracts! My grocery store carries not just vanilla and almond but strawberry, raspberry, passion fruit and lime. I add these to my water when we sit down for dinner and I couldn't be happier. But what makes you happier than flavor? Bubbles!

Yes flavored club soda. We bought a Soda Stream nearly seven years ago and have been using it ever since. The question that comes up with this though is: doesn’t' that carbon dioxide in the soda deplete calcium and bone mass. The answer is no.

An article published by the Mayo Clinic in November of 2011 cites that there is no evidence that carbonation causes harm to your bones.

Just the opposite, there are mineral waters out there that can actually help your bones. The research is not complete but it looks promising.

There is evidence out there about carbonated “COLAS” and bone density depletion.

The study out of the University of Nebraska cited the most likely cause is because people replace milk for soda in their diets and that could be the biggest contributor to bone loss.

Another study in 2006 states that women who drink soda 3-5 times per week showed more loss than woman who occasionally indulged in the diet stuff mostly contributed to the Phosphoric acid that is unique to Cola.

So once again, it is the sugary beverages that are doing more harm than good, not the bubbles themselves.

If you too are challenged with water consumption and trying to watch your sugar and calorie intake, try adding some non-caloric flavor and some bubbles to your water. Personally, I am getting at least two extra glasses of water at dinner now that I am drinking my water with carbonation.

Play hard!

Laura

 

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

It Is What It Is


Hi. It’s Laura

The title of this blog is my most detested phrase in the English language. I feel about "It Is What It Is" like some feel about the word irregardless. (Is it even really a word?[Editor’s note: You did that just get me riled up. IT IS NOT A WORD!])

I was in the dog park, with the dog, Friday afternoon. He is an avid squirrel hunter. In order to curb his enthusiasm behind the chain link fences, I bring a ball or a Frisbee, usually a ball.

My dog is a good dog. He does all his tricks when asked, he does not beg for food at the table and he brings back the ball. Not only does he bring it back, he drops it either at my feet or in my hand.

We were playing ball and, just as the dog dropped the ball in my hand, another dog snatched the ball right out of my hand. The nerve! I went to retrieve the ball from the other dog myself but the dog kept running away from me. After several attempts to get the ball, I finally asked the “Blank Faced Humans” standing around (watching me make a fool of myself) who the dog belong to. The woman, standing RIGHT NEXT TO ME, says "me". I asked her to help me get my ball from her dog.

She called it and fought with her own dog only to finally wrestle the ball away. She finally gets the ball away and instead of handing it to me, she throws it at me and says "It is the dog park after all, what do you expect?".

Really? “It’s the dog park” is your excuse for both your dog's bad behavior and your own?

If we were on the playground and my child took your child's toy and I said to you" it’s just the playground", would you accept that as an answer? I think not. So this all got me thinking, why are we so accepting of bad behavior from other people both in life and at the gym?

“It is what it is” is just lousy corporate speak for I am too lazy to do anything about it myself.

It is just an excuse. There are plenty of times when we all run late for something unforeseen Just recently, The Husband and I were delayed for a dinner reservation because of a hit and run. Sadly, the person hit by the car did not survive. So the excuse kind of works but we contacted the restaurant to let them know we were just not blowing them off.

I know a lot of trainers and some schools will not let you enter a class if you are too late and there are people who are habitually late.

The art of consideration may also not survive. There are symptoms that this hit and run patient is on life support.

1) Lateness – Soooo disrespectful! The instructor and every other student made it to class on time even if they had to get up at 4:00A.M. to do so. Make a little effort.

2) Talking in class – Because what you have to say is more important? We don't care how many glasses of wine you are bragging about having or how much you worked out yesterday. I would like to hear the instructor please and when I am teaching I would like to be heard.

3) Leaving early – If your next appointment is so important, why didn't you go to another class? In addition the cool down is as important as the warm up. Staying 5-6 minutes longer won't kill you but not staying might.

4) Doing a different workout program – If the instructor’s workout is not your idea of exercise, why did you bother to show up at all? (This happens in my spin class all the time. People just do their own ride instead of following the lead rider. Why not hit the stationary bike then?)

5) No post workout clean up – By leaving your excretions, you just said you don't care if other people sit in your sweat. I am sure you would not want to sit in anyone else's sweat, take a minute and wipe it down.

6) Out loud sarcastic comments to the instructor – This just is not necessary nor is it respectful of the instructor or the other students. If you have a problem, speak to the instructor after class is over. [Editor’s note: I still support irony if used for the purpose of breaking tension or if the joke is really good.]

7) Improper attire and/or forgetting equipment – Borrowing equipment is disruptive and there is no place for provocative or dirty/stained clothing. Have a little respect for others around you and yourself while you’re at it.

8) Singing or talking on the phone on the treadmill or elliptical- see number 6

9) Employees unprofessional behavior – Why do employees feel the need to yell across the workout space? This should ever happen is in an emergency situation. Even then I would hope the facility already has a plan in place and step 1 is not “Yell so everyone knows to panic”. (I may have just broken number 6.)

10) Pool etiquette – Don't even get me started about the pool!

Not everyone, in all classes, act like Neanderthals. I would say most people are well behaved and do show respect for themselves and the people around them. Unfortunately it is the few who choose to disobey the rules and go against social norms that are the standouts and wind up affecting those people around them in a negative way. The Husband calls it the First Law of Idiot Expansion: They will fill all areas of consideration with idiot behavior.

Don't accept bad behavior! It is perfectly acceptable to speak to someone about their behavior and how it it’s affecting you. Here is what I say; bring the situation to the instructor’s attention or even the manager of the facility. Do I say, don't do as I do.

Play hard!

Laura

 

Friday, January 18, 2013

The Biggest Motivator


 

Hi it' Laura 

I am working remotely a today and I am thinking I am super cool sitting in a "restaurant" with my iPad connected to Wi-Fi telling you about my day. Except for, I can’t really log into my blog. So I need to type an email to the editor and publish late. I also can't connect to the Wi-Fi in the restaurant because owner does not give out the code even though the Wi-Fi network thingy says it is for "customer-guest" and it's unlocked. Maybe I am not so cool after all. 

There is all of the Wi-Fi lounging at Starbucks (and long ago Barnes & Noble). There is all the social media invading our lives (both what we intentionally put out there and sometimes by accident or design what we don’t put out there). I personally find most of it annoying. I don't not mind sharing some aspects of my life on social media. I Facebook, (obviously) I tweet and I blog. I am on Linked In. Most of what I put out into the world is what I want the world to know. And yes of course I am putting my best face forward. Why on earth would I want you to see me cry or know that The Husband and I had an argument [Editor’s note: She started it] or even what I discuss with my mother (wait, a minute ...). There is a lot of content out there for the sake of being content (maybe it all of it is) but once a while some good comes of all the technology, something very useful.

As a birthday present The Husband gave me a Fitbit. I mentioned my Fitbit in a previous blog and kind of dismissed it as a modern day pedometer (mostly because I was waiting to write this entry). The Fitbit is a modern day pedometer and so much more. First, what does it look like?

It kind of looks like a flash drive but with a smooth surface. It has one small button on the bottom not dissimilar to the "home" button on the iPhone and iPad.  The difference between Fitbit and flash drive (besides a lot) is when you press the home button it lights up and greets you. "get moving", High five", "smooches", " hugs", " hello" and a few other greeting pop up. Plus it displays a specialized message that you can program yourself. If you press the home button once it displays how many steps you have walked. Pressing it a second time displays how many flight you have climbed. A third press displays how many miles, then calories, then the flower. The flower is an icon that grows based on how active you are (it’s cute but I have no use for the flower). If I am looking at my steps and floors, I have a pretty good idea of my activity. Did I mention that the husband got one for himself as well?

Fitbit has its own website where it logs your details in the beginning like height, weight, age and other vital statistics. Here you can track your overall health & fitness. Fit bit also connects with MyFitnessPal and allows you to track your food [Editor’s note: Fitbit has its own calorie tracking system but it is not as comprehensive as MyFitnessPal]. By measuring your burn, the site will add/or deduct from your overall intake as the day progresses.

So what started out as a really cool gift has turned in a stiff competition in our household.

Let me start with, when most people purchase exercise equipment, you always hear it will become an “expensive clothing rack" and other equally obnoxious comments. Rest assured no piece of exercise equipment has ever become a coat rack in my presence. My mom helped me buy a hydraulic stair stepper way “back when” from I think BJ's (long before Costco was in Jersey). I used that stupid thing twice a day, once before work and once after. When I was not using it I was outside running. I even brought it with me to my first apartment on the UES. I eventually had to trash it because the downstairs neighbor was complaining.

I know I mentioned the Fitbit is only the size of a flash drive so it will never become a coat rack. And even though it may not be large, it qualifies as a piece of exercise equipment. It is the most effective thing I have seen entering my household.

There’s not a day that goes by that The Husband and I are not competing for steps (I mostly win [Editor’s note: I work in an office and still get close]). Each few hundred steps will equal calories. I am sure you have never seen two adults argue about who gets to walk the dog but it happens now for us. I am sure The Dog gets walked just because it’s humans need the steps or the flights [Editor’s note: The Dog does get extra park time when steps are in short supply] {Editor’s Dog’s note: Woof!}.  

At this point you need to know that I needed to move location due a bothersome father who had no idea how to control his child in public. I am back to being supercool sitting in Starbucks connected to free Wi-Fi! 

The Fitbit story continues ... The Fitbit is also a game. It comes with a “belt clip" for daytime wear which you can attach to your belt, hip pocket or bra (my personal fav). It also comes with a wristband for nighttime wear. When you are “recording" an activity, you hold the home button to start the timer. Sleep is considered an activity. The wristband has a little pocket so it doesn’t fall out or off in the middle for the night.

You can also start the timer when you start your run or are exercising at the gym. At the end of the activity, you turn it off and it records into the log. Again I use MyFitnessPal, so it syncs with the Fitbit and I just need to enter the time of day I started the activity (pretty sweet right?).

But none of that is the game. The game is: find The Husband’s Fitbit, which he seems to be constantly misplacing (no wonder he can't keep up on steps [Editor’s note: I reach my goal 95% of the time]). He is probably getting them just he is just not wearing the device. We have on occasion searched for the device for just about 24 hours and on the brink of ordering a new one, it was found, exactly where he left it, in in his pants pocket [Editor’s note: I thought this was the stuff that wasn’t needed on the Internet].

The Fitbit is not water proof so you cannot wear it to swim or in the shower. So every morning the husband has to remember where he left it before he went off to groom himself. Additionally when he change from the office attire to comfies, it is always necessary to find the Fitbit before he settles in for the evening. The game is not really as much fun as it sounds although we do play it every day.

The Fitbit is not perfect. It does not really record the strength training and it does not replace your heart rate monitor but if you want to keep track of daily activity and track your steps it’s perfect.

In this household, it is definitely keeping everyone going. Every day, we are counting steps. Small changes happen naturally, like I walk up the 4th floor at the JCC to strength train instead of taking the elevator. I walk the stairs in our building to our apt instead of taking the elevator. The Husband walks to work some days just to get in the steps. These are all good sustainable changes and the best gift I have ever received.

Play hard!
Laura

Monday, January 14, 2013

Looking Good, Billy Ray!


Hi. It's Laura.

Happy Monday!

Enough crankiness. Sadly I have gotten crotchety before my time but I will do my best to curb that going forward and keep it between me and my crotchety husband [Editor’s Note: Hey!].

I had a conversation with my mother the other day. We were talking about skiing.

She currently is skiing and I am currently wishing that I were. We got around to talking about how hot and sweaty you can get. And that she was particularly sweaty on that day. Somehow, during the conversation, undergarments came up. We are talking about my mother, so it is not really odd for undergarments to come up at all in conversation. Anyway, I hope she does not mind me sharing. She made a comment about her bra being soaked with sweat from skiing moguls. I asked, “no sports bra?” Apparently she gave me all of her sports bras. What??? How do you work out without a sports bra?

I apologize to my male readers, I will try not to spend too much time on this topic.

A good sports bra helps support your girls and wicks away sweat. Other than just the ethics of a good sports bra there are other benefits: 1) improves your posture 2) improves circulation by lifting the breast which in turn helps increase lymphatic drainage, which helps improve breast health. Click here for the link that will go into more detail.

This leads me to more on the topic of clothing and what we wear to work out. I have seen some scary things in the gym (gym going forward is my broad word for any workout facility). We spend an inordinate amount of time trying to figure out what to wear to work, what to wear to meetings, what to wear Saturday night, and so on (some of us more than others). But I have never seen anyone obsess over what to wear to the gym.

When I was doing martial arts full time, I never had to worry about what to wear because we wore uniforms. As bad as that may sound (I swore I would never wear a uniform again after I got out of catholic grade school), it was so easy to go the martial arts school. Gi pants, logoed t-shirt, and I was done. (I can't tell you how many times I had to go to the sporting goods store on the corner and buy a sports bra.)

It also saved a ton of money. I own two pair of gi pants and six to ten t-shirts at a time. You just wore them till they wore out. We also did not have to wear shoes so that saved on sneakers and socks.

The uniform in my martial arts school was for one thing, to create an even playing field. The only status (social or otherwise) was displayed on your uniform in the form of stripes you earned for attendance, the stars that you earned for Kata, and belts that you earned for your progress. Jewelry was not allowed and the school preferred you use the equipment that they sold. (I am not a dummy, I know it was for them to make more money) but no one had a better pair or a nicer pair so everyone was even.

In the real world, this is just not so. People are allowed to wear whatever they want to the gym. People wear jewelry (this I don't understand), hats (still don't understand) and sport brand names that I have never heard of or are not in existence anymore.

It’s a free for all and with that kind of freedom why would go to the gym looking like a slob?

The gym (or dojo or yoga studio) can be an intimidating enough place why not walk in with your best face forward?

Invest in wicking undergarments, both a bra and underwear. You will be so much more comfortable in garments that fit properly and keep you dry. Buy a cute shirt that you like (preferably wicking) and that makes you feel good. Same with pants or shorts. Nothing too short but pants that fit (no matter your size!) that wick and make your legs look good and that make you feel good about wearing them.

I don't know who made the rule that you need to wear your husband's (boyfriend’s, ex-boyfriend’s or father's over size t-shirt). It’s not flattering and you cannot possibly feel good in it.  Believe me, if you look good, you feel good even before the work out. Even if you exercise in the dark at dawn, you should feel good about what you have on it will only make you feel better about you.

Let's add a little motivation to our wardrobe. If you have something nicer to wear you are more likely to put it on and get out the door in the first place!

Play hard!

Laura

 

Friday, January 11, 2013

Good, Bad and Laura


Hi. It's Laura.

Happy FridayJ! or notL

I am feeling kind of mean todayL

I got up a little earlier than usual because of the toeL

I am seriously challenged on cardio workouts, so I thought I would go back to spin classJ. The only reason stopped going was because the weather warmed up last March (like it does every March) and I was able to ride outside (my preferred) J.

When I first woke up, I put my iPhone and my Fitbit (Fitbit is a modern day pedometer that measures steps, stairs, sleep and calories) on the bedside table to start my morningJ. Then I hear a huge crash. One of the cats had knocked my Fitbit and iPhone to the floorL

The phone was fine so was the fit bit but I had to have The Husband get it from under the bed because it shot all the way to the middle. grrrr. damn catL

I laid out my clothes the night before so I would be on time for classJ. I have been severely undisciplined about being in the gym by 5:30. Now I get there when I can. So you can imagine my panic when, at 5:45, I can't find my gym membership card (I know exactly where it is, it’s with my credit card hiding in a place where I would never think to lookL).

5:50 still no card. Gotta go. I race around the corner (yes my gym is around the cornerJ) and head through the metal detector (because I have no card) and up to the 4th floor to check in for class that starts at 6:00. I get my water bottle filled and borrow a pair of cycling shoes (my cycling shoes of course do not fit indoor bikesL). The first ones I try fit. YAYJ!

I rush to a bike that is not in the usual spot that I used to likeJ. The room is stadium like so I go to the back row and find a bike that is not near anyone (JCC spin classes are nothing, crowd wise, compared to Soul CycleJ).

I get settled on my bike and start spinning. I realize that its 2 min after the hour. PHEW! I start looking around and the room is filled with the exact same people from the last time I was in this class. Even better, they are all in the exact same seats! I know we humans love patterns but not one new face.

Two more people come trickling in, its 5 after (class has not yet started FYIL). One woman enters and I know her from the gym floor. Every time I see her on the treadmill she is holding on for dear life. She starts to adjust her bike and can't so she switches bikes. She tries again, no luck. On her third try she winds up on the bike that is directly next to mineL.

Normally I don't mind [Editor’s note: Of course she minds]. In a room with 27 bikes and only 10 people, why on earth would you want to be right on top of someone? grrrL

Apparently the JCC got new devices for all of their bikes and it was a very big deal to discuss how to calibrate them in order to get your ride loggedJ. If you read the directions it would have taken you all of 10 seconds to figure it out. Because of this class did not start until 6:10. grrrrrL

Because this is the first full week in January, I have been trying to avoid prime time as much as possible in the gym. I know that, being around so many people, most of who will not have much of a clue as to what to do in the gym, will just a annoy me (so difficult with my hair trigger).

I made the mistake this morning of coming home after spin class to have breakfast. I should have just stayed and done my strength training. By the time I got back to the gym I was 8:00am. Prime time! L Granted the crowd looks way different than it does at 6:00PM but a crowd is a crowd.

I have my routine and fortunately for me, it’s flexible. And thank good ness that it is because, every time I went for an apparatus, it was occupiedL. I had forgotten that 9:00 am classes start and the people waiting to go into classes are starting come onto the floor and take up space. You can't calling it working out when they only do one set and they do it with incorrect technique. grrrL

On my way out of the gym I stopped at membership services to get my card replaced. There were FIVE people in front of me. FIVE? at 9:00am? WTF? L Better for me to get homeJ.

Going to the gym should be this stress free on a Friday (or any day) and definitely at that hour of the morning. J

I know you are not supposed to sweat the small stuffJ. But when there are so many small things, it's like they make one big thing. Today, I will call that big thing “Morning”L.

Once showered and fed, I start my work day. I settled into my work space with a cup of Green Earl Gray J (thank you Long Island GirlJ) but not before I threw the spoon away with the tea bag. grrrrrL.

Have a good weekend and I hope it ends with a smile. LJLJLJLJLJLJ

Play hard!

Laura

 

Monday, January 7, 2013

A Happy New Year


Hi. It's Laura.

 

Happy New Year!

 

I hope you have all enjoyed the holidays and are ready to get back to it. I know I was.

 

I had a huge plan to start the New Year but as the best laid plans go...

 

The night before we left for our winter holiday get away, I slammed my pinky toe into one of our living room cubes. I was worried that I would not be able to get my foot into a ski boot due to the swelling but “lo & behold”, I got it in just fine.

 

Before we hit the slopes, I rocked back & forth in the living room simulating turning and the toe seemed fine. We skied, though I took it easy the first couple of days. All seemed to be going well until the car ride home when the pain seemed to increase.

 

Instead of just toughing it out, I went to the podiatrist and yep, you guessed it, the toe is broken. There is not a whole lot you can do for a broken toe. The best you can do is tape it the toe next to it. You can prevent further injury to the foot by resting it. This is what I am doing under doctor’s advice.

 

I can swim and do the exercise bike. I can even do the elliptical (which I hate). The only thing that I cannot do is run (which is what I really want to do). Good news (?) on that front. I did not get into the NYC Half Marathon (with Hurricane Sandy causing the cancellation of the NYC Marathon, I am not surprised). So I am not missing much training for that particular event. I was a little peeved that I did not receive a notification one way or the other. I had to go to their website and log in (happy to remember my username and password) to find out.

 

In my racing career to date, I have always received a notification one way or the other. This is just another check mark on the NYC RR's bad list of mine over the years. Unfortunately, they hold the most races in my back yard so I will keep going back but I don't have to like it. My official training for the triathlon (which is the more important event) does not begin until the end of March.

 

Fingers crossed here, this is my third foot injury since October. Since I do believe they come in three's, let's hope this is it. First the sprained ankle for my birthday, a week later the full aluminum water bottle falling on my toe and now the broken toe.(other foot)

 

Although I am pleased that I can do some exercises, I am disappointed in not being able to run for at least three more weeks. I am now relegated to all indoor activities at the gym. This is not my favorite place this time of year.

 

I think the only people who might actually not mind the gym this time of year are the people who go to the gym ONLY this time of year. When they show back up in March or April and see how quiet it is (I say March & April because the will only be here for the month of January), they will go away again.

 

Professionally I would love to get my hands on these people and show them the joy of exercise & fitness and that it is much easier to stay in shape than it is to get back into it every January (maybe February). Personally, I wish there were a gym that One-A-Year-People could go to so as not to bother the rest of us (kind of like the island I picture for teenagers).

 

I am not going to begrudge anyone's resolutions (wait! who said that?!). I have a few goals of my own this year. My second triathlon is one of them. That is if I can ever stop injuring myself (anyone care to analyze that?).

 

I have also been carrying around a few extra pounds that are driving me crazy. I am not one to write down my goals and share them with others (except of course this blog). I always thought I had too much discipline and was usually able to achieve what ever I set out to do. But as for these “muffin makers”, I have been carrying them long enough. So wrote down my goal number on my bathroom mirror. So far it’s working. I know it will eventually turn into one of the many post-it notes I post to my computer home page and will begin ignoring it (hopefully though not before I achieve it).

 

Time to be secretive: I have one very lofty goal for this year that I cannot yet share but let's call it: “Kick Start Alpha”

 

Sometimes goals (or resolutions or whatever you are calling them) do get set aside. This does not mean failure. “Kick Start Alpha” has been shelved since Hurricane Sandy. First the city was shut down, then it reopened, then it was the beginning of the holiday season, then it was the holidays and finally we were gone for two weeks. This does not mean it failed.

 

Sometimes we have to put goals aside temporarily to get a perspective or to deal with life. Life will get in the way. Whatever your goal, this is an excellent time of year to get started.

 

To steal from the ads of the season: “A New Year, A New You”. Or perhaps a better you.

 

Play hard!

 

Laura