Monday, December 10, 2012

Derail, Hinder,Thwart


Hi, It's Laura.

 

I hope you enjoyed your weekend. I certainly did. I usually do during ski season.

 

I experienced last week the slippery slope of exercise. It’s amazing what one single choice can do to your week.

 

I do believe that I am very disciplined in my workout schedule (perhaps obsessively so at times).

 

Not that I did not work out on Tuesday, I did. My client however did not. There are so many issues in this story that I have to try to focus on just the one.

 

We were schedule to meet at the gym at 6PM. I arrived at 5:45 and when I emerged from the subway I had both a voicemail and a text message asking me where the gym is exactly.

 

Seriously! This is not our first trip to this location (my personal training takes me to many different gyms around the city). This client, Lefty had been there many times but since Hurricane Sandy, not once. This in itself is a problem. Consistency is the key to staying fit. Not showing up and rescheduling all your sessions are bad.

 

I responded to both her voicemail and text giving her the exact address and cross streets (again). I waited and waited and finally at 6:15 she arrived. She was not dressed to work out and was nearly in tears for being lost for so long. “Instead of working out, can we please go for a drink?” she asks. How can I say no? She clearly needs to talk more than she needs to punch anything.

 

We drink. We eat.

 

This is where the story turns. There were many issues to be discussed. We ate. We drank.

 

We are hanging out now. We eat. We drink. It’s late. Later than I prefer. I get home finally just after my regular bed time. (I believe it is a well-known fact that I go bed earlier than most 8 year olds.)

 

The Wednesday morning dog walk is brutal. By the time I return from my morning volunteer work, I am exhausted. Instead of going to the pool right away, I head to the sofa. It is a rare week day that I nap. I tell myself just 20 minutes then I will go to the gym. After 20, I give myself 20 more. And 20 more. So there you have it, the edge of the cliff.

 

No workout for me on Wednesday. Guilt is overwhelming and I easily succumb to it most days. My mind is wracked with how I now fit everything in that I need to fit in workout wise. My week is already well planned out and we are not here on the weekends anymore. There is just no room to add in what I missed.

 

I carry on with my week nearly as planned but one night out shifted everything. I am off the swim plan. I didn't get any ride time in. I am still kind of tired from staying up too late and drinking too much even 3 days later. (Getting older has its disadvantages.)

 

Normally, I would panic. This time I decided to forgive myself. Maturity? Stupidity? Not sure, but letting myself off the hook is a first. I rationalize that it is early December (plenty of time to train between now and July).

 

Sometimes the night out is little more important than hitting the gym. The caveat: if you are working out regularly, you are not immediately training for a race and you live healthy lifestyle (most of the time), then the night out and a missed workout should not be a big deal.

 

Allow yourself a little freedom now and again and when you get back to the gym you will be better for it.

 

Play hard! 

Laura

 

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Bad Exceptions to the Rule


Hi. It's Laura.

 

I shouldn't call it a rule. It is more of a guideline.

 

I found an article in Runner's World a few years ago explaining the 20 degree rule for dressing to run outside. Whatever the temperature is outside add 20 degree and dress accordingly. For example, if running in 60 degree weather, dress for normal activity in 80 degree weather. At 80 degrees, I would wear shorts and a short sleeve shirt with a baseball hat. At 50 degrees, I would wear shorts and a long sleeve shirt or Capri pants and a short sleeve shirt. That is exactly what I wore this morning. Capri running pants and s short sleeve shirt, except it felt more like 40 degrees when I walked out the door.

 

Before I continue, I should explain that I am terribly cranky today. Perhaps it is because my run was so lousy because I certainly didn't wake up this way. I awoke cozy and warm and the bed was oh so comfy.

 

I normally look forward to my Tuesday runs and today was no exception.

 

So as I was saying, I headed out the front door and realized it was chillier than I anticipated so I went back up to the apartment to change into a long sleeve shirt. Normally a little chilly is ok today felt different

 

Once done, back to the street.

 

Central Park is just less than 1/2 mile away from my front door. So by the time I’m half way there, I am warm and ready to go. Today, a block in, I realize it is misting. Damn Damn Damn. I don’t mind misting, I don't even mind rain but today I was wearing brand new sneakers that took over a week to get fitted. I know how this sounds like a big bratty baby but I was upset that, on day one of my new sneakers, they had to get wet in the rain.

 

Mind you I am no princess [Editor’s Note: Uh… Never mind] when it comes to outdoor exercise. I have run in many downpours and don't mind it one bit. But usually I know it is raining or it is going to rain. Today, that was not the case. I checked the weather before I walk out the door. Chris Cimino did not mention rain in the forecast that I heard. By the time I entered Central Park the rain was a steady downpour. Grrrr

 

The fact that it is was pouring and I didn't know it was supposed to rain and that I was wearing brand new shoes ruined the first mile of my run. (Truth be told? The first mile usually stinks anyway.)

 

I can't tell you why this was so upsetting to me today. I spent the first mile cursing the weather man (I know, I know, colossal waste of energy and since when are weather men ever right).

 

I would like to say that everything was just fine for running conditions this morning but they weren't. My shuffle was low on battery. I was not dressed properly. I was chilly. It was pouring rain. The park was crowded (go figure! Apparently no one knew it was raining). And, it was just a little too dark from overcast to see the puddles that I stomped in (with brand spanking new sneakers)

 

I trudged on and managed to squeak out the rest of my run (actually cut short because of the rain and the shiny brand spanking new sneaks).

 

We all find excuses to not go to our workouts, excuses are easy. To actually go out to workout in spite of the excuses ultimately makes us feel better after the fact. By the time I got home, the rain had stopped and the sun started to make its way out.

 

Play hard!

 

Laura