Monday, July 8, 2013

Race Week


Hi. It's Laura.

 

Last week may have been a short week for most people but when you are training for a triathlon and it’s around the corner there is no time off.

 

Although tapering has begun intensity has waned.

 

Last week's end of week runs were just brutal. I felt like a human barbeque. Marinating in sweat running up the west side and then baking in the sun coming back down the east side.

Regardless of what time I was out, it was just hot.

 

I managed to get my brick in first thing Saturday morning which finished off the last of the big workout for this training. Now it’s all about rest and panic.

 

Just to be sure, I am not overreacting with my panic. I reread some of my blog entries from last year and realize that I am right on-time with my panic both in intensity and duration.

 

Although this year, I believe that sheer panic only kicked in last week where as last year I believe it was the entire month before the race.

 

Trying to assuage some of my fear, I spent some time on the NYC Aquaphor Triathlon website yesterday. I can't say that it helped.

 

I had a dream last night that I made into transition 1 but there was a mandatory shower and that my time in transition was more than an hour. In the dream I was freaking out about how long I had to wait in line to take a shower and how ridiculous it was to take a shower before going out on a bike ride.

 

Perhaps spending time on the website was not a good idea after all.

 

I did do some calculations based on information provided about times and starts. I am 9 age groups ahead of where I was last year. This means I am in the water sooner, probably about 6:15 to 6:20.

 

I am hoping to improve my times from last year. Last year: 27 min for the swim, 1:44 for the bike and 1:15 for the run. First transition was rough it took my nearly 15 min to get from the swim finish to T1 and 2 ½ minutes out of T2. I would like to shave some time there too. The run from the swim to T1 is barefoot in a wetsuit and about a 1/2 mile. It sucks.

 

I am hoping to shave time off of all the areas. And if the weather cooperates that could happen.

My goal is take at least 5 minutes off my swim, 15 off the bike and 15 off the run.

 

I would like to transition out of the bike to the run in less than 2 min and, for T1, I would like to complete in less than 10 min.

 

I ran into some issues last year with really bad cramps in my hamstrings before taking off for the run. I just hope that all of the strength training I have done over the last 16 weeks has helped.

 

There is not much left to do this week except rest and wait for the organization to email out my number for the race. Mandatory athlete briefing is on Friday. Mandatory bike check is on Saturday. I will keep you posted when I get my number and spectator information

 

Laura

 

No comments:

Post a Comment