Monday, July 15, 2013

NYC Triathlon #2- The Race


Hi. It's Laura.

Race Weekend is very exciting. The weekend starts with a mandatory athlete briefing and Expo.

Who doesn't love pre race Expos?! There is so much gear and equipment and athletes generating excitement about the upcoming race.

The NYC triathlon is the only race I am aware of that does a pre race mandatory briefing. I do understand why. The logistics of a race this large in New York City are quite complicated. And with the recent bombing at the Boston Marathon, new security measures were put into place. The organizers wanted to make sure everyone was aware of what they were going to be.

The briefings stared Friday ran through Saturday late afternoon. Not much else happens on Saturday except for mandatory bike check in which happens between 2:00pm and 9:00pm. This is no surprise. The organizers put this information out long before race weekend. No bike, No race, No exceptions.

I got my bike in around 2:30 Saturday afternoon, fully loaded and ready to go. I decided to put my rinsing water on the bike because I didn't want to juggle multiple liquids race morning. I don't care if my rinsing water is warm so, to have it sit over night, is not a big deal. After the bike was dropped off, it was home to rest.

I was really looking forward to a good night on the sofa with a great movie. It is summer time so apparently nothing is on so The Husband and I wound up watching some cheesy movie on Netflix streaming (Netflix streaming sucks BTW, they seem to only have movies that no one ever wanted to watch in the first place).

A little supper and off to bed. I make this sound so very simple. It was not.

Saturday was one of the busiest days on the UWS that I can remember.

If you are a baseball fan you know that the All-Star game is on Tuesday and that it is at Citifield. Apparently that means there are events all over NYC. Most of them seem to be happening in my neighborhood. There was a HUGE concert in Central Park on Saturday night, a boy band concert that had a matinee and evening performance at the Beacon Theater. I happen to live across the street from artist entrance. Oh yeah, there is the triathlon on Sunday. To say that the UWS was busy on Saturday is an understatement.

It is bad enough to have prerace jitters and have to go to bed at 8:00. But to have several hundred screaming teenagers outside on the street added to my nerves. I was very worried that the concert would let out in the middle of a bad night's sleep. As it turned out, I fell right to sleep (lack of nap certainly helped). It was not the screaming teenagers that kept me up but The Husband's intermittent bouts of snoring that kept waking me up. Don't worry he got punched, a lot.

The new security procedures were promised to take a little more time so I decided to get up a little earlier and give myself some time. The alarm had me up at 3:15 AM. I was sure this would give me enough time. I am a notorious bad “waker upper” (it is a technical term). I need my coffee and scheduled this into my time in the morning. It takes me a solid half hour to get going any morning and I took that into consideration. By 3:45 I was making breakfast and getting my tri-tats applied by The Husband. This year I ate all of my breakfast. Last year I only ate half. I knew it was important and my nerves were better this year over last year.

Transition is open from 4:00am to 5:15 am. If your crap (another technical term) is not in by 5:15 you are S.O. L.

We left the apt at about 4:20 plenty of time (or so I thought). We left the building and crossed Broadway when I realized I had forgotten my bike computer and Chapstick. We headed back to the apartment. Items gathered we head to Riverside Park again. We are almost at transition when I realize, I forgot my water in the fridge. Seriously! This is not a good start. I asked The Husband and he (being the amazing husband that he is) ran back to the apt to get my water bottles. I went into transition to set up everything else. Unlike last year, this year I am in a middle row in the middle of the zone and quarters are tight. I have no great spot to get organized so I wound up putting my stuff under the tire of the bike that was racked opposite of mine. I finish setting up and go back to the entrance to wait for The Husband.

As I stood there waiting the kept announcing how much longer transition would be open. I also spotted Tara Costa formerly "biggest loser" fame, not sure if she was a volunteer or participating. I thought to myself “how stupid of me, of all things to forget”. If I had no water out on the West Side Highway, where there is no bike support, and if something happens I am stuck out there until the final sweep at 10am, yikes! I hear the announcer say 4 minutes until transition closes when I hear my name being shouted. It’s The Husband!! He has my water. Oh thank goodness. I run into transition against all of the people heading out which it looks like most everyone and get my water on the bike with minutes to spare.

I was concerned about getting to the start line on time. From transition it’s a 1 mile walk

I know I need to use the restroom before I get my wetsuit on and I also need to drop my sneakers from the walk into the waiting trucks. We manage to get to the start area on time.

The restroom lines are huge but I am in and out without incident.

I asked The Husband if he could drop my sneaker into the truck while I get my wetsuit on.

I stood to the side and struggled to get my wetsuit on because of the humidity. You try pulling on 1/2 inch thick neoprene when you are drenched with sweat. It ain't easy. I swear it took me 15 minutes.

I get it to my waist, which was enough before I need to get to my corral, and The Husband returns. We head down to the start together. Twice on the way, I had to stop. I thought I stepped on a rock I bent over to wipe it off my foot. I took a few more steps and had to stop again because it hurt. After I cleared the foot a second time and it still hurt I asked the husband to look. He tells me I have a splinter. Are you kidding me? We go to the medical tent. No doctor, no nurse and no tweezers. They tell us there is another medical tent beyond the start. We head through the chaos next to the pros who were just going into the water, and there is no second medical tent. I am slightly panicked at this point because once the pros start it goes fast. I don't want to miss my start. I head back to the coral and The Husband heads out in search of tweezers.

Please keep in mind the humidity is 100%. The poor guy is drenched from running home for my water and now running all over Riverside Park looking for tweezers. In the end he comes up empty handed. It’s too late. It’s time for me to go.

My age group is headed to the barge and we are moving quickly! NYC Triathlon does a time trial start format. The whistle blows every 20 second and 15 athletes enter the water. The pros started at 5:50 am. I was the 9th group into the water and I entered the water at 6:23am. I was less nervous this year waiting to go in and on the barge I felt good. I started my awesome watch and when the time came, I jumped.

Once in the water, I swam. Yes that is what you do when you jump in the water. I felt ok and then I didn't. I picked my head up at about the 600 meter mark and looked back. I was pretty far from the barge and definitely far from the finish. This is where I had my panic attack. I stopped swimming and sat there. The internal conversation sounded something like this: “WTF where you thinking, triathlon again?” “You are such an idiot”. “I can't do this, I have to stop”. “I feel like I am suffocating”. “Everyone will be so disappointed”. “I need to quit but I can't quit”. “I could get them to pull me out now I can take a DNF”.

At this point I unzipped the back of my wetsuit and flipped onto my back. I cannot tell you what exactly changed. Maybe the internal conversation continued but I don't remember. I do remember telling myself “you are an idiot and you have a plan you have trained for this”.

So I flipped back onto my belly and started stroking. I remembered not to kick and just kept stroking. Once I got going I refused to look ahead because I didn't want to freak myself out again. So when I felt the wrist bands (mandatory for participation and getting your bike back at the end) cutting into my wrists I just let it go. I told myself it didn't matter I didn't need my hands for the rest of the event. I now however look like I tried to commit suicide from the gash on my right wrist.

I came to the end of the swim. It was relatively free from incident except for being cut off at least once before getting to the finish barge. But I made it.

All of the thoughts of quitting I had towards the beginning of the swim were now gone.

I head down the long 700 yard jog from the swim finish to T1. Last year I walked out because I was so wiped out. This year I run it. I find my bike, get my bike gear on and realize I need to pee. The port-a-potties are at the back of transition, grrrr. That will take too much time but I know I cannot head out on the West Side Highway without going.

I exit transition and wind up using the public restroom out of T1 which is adding time to my bike ride. I say “priorities”. I thought about peeing my pants and not worrying about but I knew I stood no chance of winning my age group at this point so, into the bathroom I go.

The bike course is just as brutal as I remember it. I am 8 minutes in and the sweat is just pouring off my head and down onto the bike. From my placement in the race, I get to see some of the elite athletes already on their way back, way impressive and perhaps just a little inspiring (Ok a lot). I was grateful that it was overcast for most of the ride, actually all of the ride.

The West Side Highway has not been paved recently and the potholes are brutal on the butt. Between Hurricane Sandy and snow removal, the pavement is best described as “ouch”.12 ½ miles from bike to the turnaround at Mosholu Parkway and back down the west side. Rolling hill after rolling hill after rolling hill.

It’s amazing what happens in a race like this. I caught a group of women and we were riding and chatting. The camaraderie & cooperation was just amazing. When you are half way through one of the best triathlons in the country, it’s awesome that people can be that respectful and considerate of one another. I must note here that my foot with the splinter in it was throbbing like crazy. The splinter entered the foot in the exact spot where my cleats are which is the power position for cycling.

As I finish the bike and head into transition, I see there are swimmers still coming out of the water, wow!

Into T2 (same place as T1 just headed for a different sport), quick change and I head out. On the list of things that I have forgotten to do, reapplying sunscreen was one of them. I knew I was tired so I allowed myself to walk out of transition and up the steep hill to get onto 72nd street.

Again, after the panic attack, winning the age group was not going to happen. Once I was out on 72nd street, my right calf started to tighten. I allowed myself to walk and stretch the calf. In addition to the calf, I had a wicked stitch in my side. I know from all of my bricks that it takes me a little while to settle into the run. I allowed myself run/walks down 72nd and into the park. The morning was ticking away and the sun come out just as I was making my way into the park. I remember reading on the weather channel that the heat wave was supposed to start around noon. I disagree. As soon as the sun came out, the heat was overwhelming.

I hit 1 mile mark upon entry into the park. 5.2 to go.

I am not recovering and I am a little worried. I keep trying to push myself and making myself run but I have to keep stopping because of the stitch in my side. My foot is fine. Fortunately I am not striking the foot where the splinter entered.

At mile 2, I feel better and start to run, I took water at every station and Gatorade at every other. I would take one water for drinking and dump one on me for cooling. By the time I hit the 5K mark, other than the sun bearing down, I felt ok. I could feel that I was not getting my feet far off the ground and didn't care. I was going to make it.

Once on the east side of the park, the home stretch, I execute my plan like I planned and not the improvised plan the course and heat were forcing to me to do. I allowed myself to walk through every water station from beginning to end. It gave me a minute to rest and consume.

I saw two runners passed out on the course at about the 4 1/2 mile mark. At mile 5, I borrowed some one else’s friends who were cheering her on. They were loud and they were awesome and they were happy to cheer for me since all of my people were at the south end of the park.

I run this park 3-4 times a week and I run this course at least twice a week. It is never as long as it was during the race. I finally made it down to the 72nd crossover and had almost forgotten they make us run through Cherry Hill before being able to cross the finish line. Through Cherry Hill and into the finish line corridor to the finish line. I was elated and hot.

The second I stopped I could feel how high my core temperature was. I did the following in this order: cross the finish line, get an iced towel, get my finisher’s medal, drink water & Gatorade and then onto medical.

I entered the medical tent to see if they could get the splinter out of my foot. I had yet to check in with my family and was worried about how long it was taking. But exactly like the start, there were no tweezers to be found.

The medical staff was doing the best they could. It was not their fault. They were all very nice and very accommodating.

I found The Husband and home we went. But of course, not before having to walk all the way across town to collect my bike.

Bike collected, I go home to celebrate with my family. Thank you family for all of your support. You have no idea how much it means to me to have there for me.

You will be happy to know I slept for 12 hours.

Onto the next one!

Laura.











Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Bib # 1059


Hi. It's Laura.

 I wish I could say I am having an easy time this week.  I'm not.

Monday's bike ride was short (50 min) and hot. Tuesday morning's run was sticky. And when I jumped into the pool for a quick (900 meter) swim I was more nervous swimming in the pool than I was at the actual start of the race last year. 

I know that, by the time I hit the start last year, I was ok, not great. I was as calm as anyone can be doing their first triathlon (at least I didn't puke).

I am not sure if my nerves are amped up because of a) I do know how difficult the course is or b) because of the high expectations I have of myself. 

Yesterday during my ride, about 1 mile in, I developed a headache. I generally don't get headaches so the fact that I did get one was disconcerting. Two Advil and two hours later I had no relief. The two Tylenol after that seemed to do the trick.

This morning while swimming I developed yet another headache. Can we say stress? All together now!

All I have left for the week as far as workouts are: 30 minute bike ride on Wednesday, 20 minute run and a 750 meter swim on Thursday. The final workout is Saturday with a quick brick: 20 minute bike ride and a 15 minute run.  Almost there!

I have been watching the weather like it’s my favorite television show. This morning I heard some good news: rain and thunderstorms for the next two days and the humidity should break by Friday leaving the weekend quite pleasant.  I am delighted!

I received my race number today: 1059.  You can follow me on the Aquaphor New York City Triathlon app for iPhone or Android.  The Husband will also be tweeting on my behalf throughout the course of the race. You can follow at @inspiredbylaura on twitter.

If you are going to be in NYC and want to root for me or other athletes, below is the link to the spectators guide. The guide does say the west side highway is not a good place to watch but last year I saw people all up and down at the exits. Just be careful, only the northbound lane will be closed.

Now for some stats.  I was surprised myself to see how far I moved over the last sixteen weeks.

By the time Saturday rolls around I will have swum 36,140 meters or 1,446 laps, biked 3,186 minutes or 800 miles and run 2,384 minutes or 238.5 miles.  You would think I would be ready! Fingers crossed.

This will be my last blog until Monday when I send out race details.

See you at the finish line!

Laura

 

 

Monday, July 8, 2013

Race Week


Hi. It's Laura.

 

Last week may have been a short week for most people but when you are training for a triathlon and it’s around the corner there is no time off.

 

Although tapering has begun intensity has waned.

 

Last week's end of week runs were just brutal. I felt like a human barbeque. Marinating in sweat running up the west side and then baking in the sun coming back down the east side.

Regardless of what time I was out, it was just hot.

 

I managed to get my brick in first thing Saturday morning which finished off the last of the big workout for this training. Now it’s all about rest and panic.

 

Just to be sure, I am not overreacting with my panic. I reread some of my blog entries from last year and realize that I am right on-time with my panic both in intensity and duration.

 

Although this year, I believe that sheer panic only kicked in last week where as last year I believe it was the entire month before the race.

 

Trying to assuage some of my fear, I spent some time on the NYC Aquaphor Triathlon website yesterday. I can't say that it helped.

 

I had a dream last night that I made into transition 1 but there was a mandatory shower and that my time in transition was more than an hour. In the dream I was freaking out about how long I had to wait in line to take a shower and how ridiculous it was to take a shower before going out on a bike ride.

 

Perhaps spending time on the website was not a good idea after all.

 

I did do some calculations based on information provided about times and starts. I am 9 age groups ahead of where I was last year. This means I am in the water sooner, probably about 6:15 to 6:20.

 

I am hoping to improve my times from last year. Last year: 27 min for the swim, 1:44 for the bike and 1:15 for the run. First transition was rough it took my nearly 15 min to get from the swim finish to T1 and 2 ½ minutes out of T2. I would like to shave some time there too. The run from the swim to T1 is barefoot in a wetsuit and about a 1/2 mile. It sucks.

 

I am hoping to shave time off of all the areas. And if the weather cooperates that could happen.

My goal is take at least 5 minutes off my swim, 15 off the bike and 15 off the run.

 

I would like to transition out of the bike to the run in less than 2 min and, for T1, I would like to complete in less than 10 min.

 

I ran into some issues last year with really bad cramps in my hamstrings before taking off for the run. I just hope that all of the strength training I have done over the last 16 weeks has helped.

 

There is not much left to do this week except rest and wait for the organization to email out my number for the race. Mandatory athlete briefing is on Friday. Mandatory bike check is on Saturday. I will keep you posted when I get my number and spectator information

 

Laura

 

Tuesday, July 2, 2013

12 Day Countdown


Hi. It's Laura.

In what is supposed to be a quiet holiday week in NYC as it turns out is not.

Everywhere (the park and the pool) seem to be filled with people.

I was able to squeeze a 70 minute ride in the park on Monday morning before the rain started.

Having learned my lesson from last week, I decided to get it done first thing in the morning instead of waiting for the weather to get worse.  Oh wait! You don't know because I didn't tell you.  Last Monday I decided to hit the gym first thing in the morning and head out for my ride second.  Huge mistake.  Last Monday was very hot if you recall.  I rode 90 minutes: once around the park and up and down the west side.  I was at 74th & West End before I made my first stop. When I did stop and felt the 90 degree sun hit my face, I thought it was going to melt right off. 

This Monday I got it right: Bike, then gym all in an effort to manage the weather. 

Tuesday morning I headed out for a one hour run but not without my own personal drama to start the morning.  So last week I was super excited about my new toy and the fact that it had a new strap for the HR monitor.  In my over zealousness and fervor, I neglected to put on any lubrication on the strap.  So the word of the day is “ouch”.  I have an irritation from last week and because of the humidity this morning, I have new one on top of the old one (well not exactly on top).  I felt it forming, just like a blister, about 2 1/2 miles into my run so I decided to slide it down just a tad.  Duh.  Now I have a matching set. 

From the park to the pool. 

I have been very lucky this year in the pool so far. I have encountered a lot of cooperative people until today.

I am not sure if it because of the holiday week or that it is just summer but the pool today was just chaos.

It started off pretty quiet. It was just me and another woman in my lane. She jumped in right before me and took off like a shot, or so I thought.  I am always initially intimidated by other swimmers.  It turned out she was just a little too slow for the fast medium lane

Right next door is the fast lane.  There were two men in that lane, in addition to some others, that kept jumping back forth from their lane (fast) to my lane (medium fast).

At one point, I was taking a rest between sets and an older man in the fast lane asked me if I was going to go. I looked at him and asked him directly what do you care, you are not in my lane.  He says he wants to go. I said go, you are in a different lane. So he jumped under the ropes and cut me off.  WTF?

There were too many people, by the end of my swim, swimming in my lane that didn’t belong there. I was very happy to be getting close to the end.   During my cool down, I caught one of the women that should not have been there.  At the wall, I stopped to rest; she asked me if I wanted to go. I said “no, go ahead”. She started to insist that I go until I told her I was cooling down.  I managed to avoid her for the next 150 meters. People!

12 days left go.  Panic comes and goes. 

Late last week the organizer of the race sent out the "athlete's guide"

The athlete's guide let's you know what to expect: the schedule of events for the weekend, the location of the mandatory athlete's orientation, the expo and security procedures.

Of course this year there are new security procedures due to the bombing in Boston.

Nothing huge or outrageous, just asking everyone participating to use clear plastic bags to bring their gear into the transition area. Once in transition, you are free to use your own bag.

Like I said, no biggie.

The biggest change for me this year is my start.  Apparently old ladies go before young ladies and most men. The only age groupers in front of the 45-49 year old woman are men ages 40-44. It looks like there are a lot of them because there are three groups of them.  I have moved up to the 9th wave to start which is 9 age groups  ahead of where I was last year.  An earlier start means an earlier finish. Time trial starts are schedule for a 6:04 am start. I am guessing I will be in the water by 6:30ish. 

For the most part, the biggest parts of my training are finished.  I have only one 90 minute bike ride left and one brickwork out this Saturday which by comparison is not that bad. A 90 minute ride with a 15 min run and then it’s all about rest and not getting hurt. Oy.

Laura

 

Monday, July 1, 2013

Red Ryder BB Gun with a Compass in the Stock


Hi it's Laura.

 I have been struggling this week with what to talk about.

Do I talk about the heat? I started to write one blog about the heat but it sounded like a big whiny complaint. So I ditched it. I started another entry but it too sounded like complaining. And since nothing remarkable has happened, I am lost for a good story.

When I finally sat down this morning, I decided to write. I decided it was best to start with happy news that made me dance instead of whining news. I am not going to attach the accompanying video because well, it's just too embarrassing. Let's just say the guys at the restaurant got a good laugh at me for the dance.

I will start at the beginning. The Husband passed down to me his Garmin Forerunner 301 a few years ago.  The Forerunner 301 is a GPS device that tracks your runs, cycling routes and heart rate (even though we call it a watch it actually does not tell time). The F301came out on the market in 2005ish, state of the art at the time. The Husband passed it down to me in 2008 when I did my first half marathon. He of course got himself the latest and greatest at that time.

Don't get me wrong. I did not care. I am not a huge gadget person. I like my iPhone and my iPad but the Garmin with the GPS was kind of above my level of interest. I did not care how far or how fast I was running, just that I was.

I had a pretty standard polar heart rate monitor and that was good enough for me. The Garmin 301 is big. It's at least 3 inches long and 1 5/8 inches high and straps to your wrist with Velcro. It took some getting used to because the thing is a brick. I was very self conscience wearing for the first time in Central Park. I felt like it was so big that everyone was looking at me.

In addition to it being old it is well used. The chest strap for the heart rate monitor is constantly chaffing at the bra line. Over the years I have tried a lot of different lubricants to prevent the chaffing which can be very very painful especially when it first hits water (for those of you who grappled with me, it’s the same thing but on your chest instead of your back). My old formula of just Glide stopped working. I am now on some chamois lube with a French name and I top that with Vaseline. For now, that works. (Vaseline alone gets absorbed into the skin and does not make a good barrier to prevent chaffing.)

With all of that being said, I count on it now. I could not go for a run or a bike ride without.

I will not call myself obsessed but I certainly like to see what I am doing on any given day. Am I running fast because I am well rested? I am riding slowly because I had a bad night sleep? The one biggest drawback being a triathlete (OMG I just totally called myself that) is that the Garmin Forerunner 301 is not water proof and not capable of being used in the pool. Plus it was never designed to do so. But the Garmin Forerunner 910XT is designed for water.

I was quite flabbergasted when The Husband got one for me. He surprised me with it earlier this week. I felt like Ralphie on Christmas morning when he finally got the BB gun [Editor’s note: It is 200 shot range model air rifle!]. Not only does it track riding and running but it also goes in the pool (Ralphie's bb gun came with a “thing that tells the time”  but the Garmin still does not tell time BTW). I swam with it Thursday morning and was so excited to see how far and fast I was swimming, I was positively giddy.

It may not tell time but it has amazing bells and whistles that I never even thought of before. You can set it to automatically change sports during triathlon. Very exciting.

 So exciting in fact, The Husband and I met for lunch Thursday after my swim. I originally recorded a reenactment of the dance in the restaurant and then thought better that you use your imagination.



Laura