Hi. It's Laura
I must begin with an apology for providing TMI. The content
today, at least in the beginning, may be too much. I promise not to linger too
long on the embarrassing parts.
I know every home and every person is different. This is why
some people choose to wear matching neon caps and sneakers while they run and
others like to stick to basic black or blue and not stand out too much.
I started thinking about people's person rituals and habits
before they go out to exercise. I went back to pee for the third time before I
left the house this morning. As said earlier, you may learn more about me in
this blog than you really wanted to know. If that is the case stop reading and
wait for Friday's entry.
On the days when I work out in the morning, my routine is
pretty much the same: hit the snooze button at least twice. This is a very
important piece of my morning. I do not wake well, and at 5:10 when the alarm
starts going, the 10 extra minutes of lolling around and trying to get my eyes
to open is the key to my day. My eyes are very sensitive in the mornings and
they take a little time to open (this is only the case when I wake up with
alarm, natural waking does not have the same effect).
Once out of bed, the parade starts: first the black cat, then
the white cat, then me, then the dog and we all proceed into the kitchen. The
cats beg for food, the dog begs for attention all while I struggle to find the
coffee cups because my eyes are just not quite open yet (thankfully they are in
the same place every day).
Once the first cup of coffee is poured, I move to the end of
the sofa, mutter a good morning to The Husband and figure out how I feel before
I start my day. This all takes about 15 minutes.
Do I feel energized? Do I feel sore? Tired? Do I really want
to go out and do whatever exercise I have scheduled for myself (99.9% of the
time that answer is yes)? On my tired days I try to figure out if I can somehow
make the workout shorter (rarely does this happen) or not go at all (even more
rare). On my energized days, there is no thought there is just go or must go.
And on the sore days, I talk myself into it by reminding myself that the
soreness will work itself out once I get going (I know soreness can be a huge
factor for a lot of people to call it quits for the day. If this is you, I promise if you start moving
it will feel better).
Now for the second cup of coffee. Technically it is not
really a second cup. I usually only get about half way through the first one
before It gets cold and it needs to be refreshed. About this time, it's time to
move.
I have learned from past experience it best that I lay my
clothes out the night before. The weather is a big deal in our house. The
Husband and I take turns walking the dog in the mornings. If you are going to
spend an hour outdoors, it’s best to know what is going on out there. Not to
mention, I prefer running and cycling outdoors. So I do need to know how to
dress to be comfortable. There is no sense fumbling around in the morning. If
you know you are a procrastinator, you may want to try putting your clothes out
the night before. If you don't work out in the morning, and go after work, you
may want to pack your gear and put it near the door and grab it when you leave.
One less excuse!
My dressing ritual is fairly easy since the clothes are on
the dresser along with Vaseline for my feet and Glide for other parts. The
trickier part is which hat and which gloves. I have cold gloves and colder
gloves also a cold hat and a colder hat not to mention two different baseball
style running caps (usually not an option below 40 degrees). FYI, I am a basic
black or blue not a neon green.
Now the hard part, leaving. Along time ago, I suffered from
serious anxiety about leaving the house and commuting to work. I am sure it was
NOT agoraphobia but something like it but more mild because I actually did
leave the house every day. I guess some days are just like that. I start
thinking about the actual park where I am going to run, the run itself, the
hills that I am going to have to climb and the people I will see. So instead of
walking out the door, I pee.
I am ready to go again and think “what if I hurt myself?”, “What
if I get hit by a car or a bus?”, “What if I have to pee during my run?” so I
pee. At this point my mother would say I am silly. I think about how beautiful
the sky will be rising over Central Park. I think about how great I will feel
when I am finished and how proud I will be of myself for completed my task. So
I pee again. And then I leave.
We all have habits and rituals that are important to our
success. I am sure some shrink somewhere would call them OCD or some kind of
syndrome. These are the mechanisms that help us cope. Whether it is to go to
work or out to exercise or even for an evening out with friends. Knowing these
things about ourselves aides us in our success if we embrace them and own them.
Know thyself.
Laura
No comments:
Post a Comment